Mac Pro 2013 Pink Startup screen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by D9B, Nov 18, 2016.

  1. D9B macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    When I start my Mac Pro (2013), first screen with apple logo is pink (see attached screen). I've tried Reset NVRAM but without success. Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #2
    Have you checked for loose cables on both sides of the monitor cable?
     
  3. D9B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #3
    Yes, I did. I've also checked another cable - It was first thing I've checked
     
  4. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
  5. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #5
  6. D9B, Nov 19, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2016

    D9B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #6
    I made decision the re-install Sierra OS. So, initial screen with apple logo is pink as usual and after then installer is starting up, it's changing to the "normal" colors ?!?
    Maybe I ask stupid questions:
    - do I need to reset SMC (reset PRAM I did already), if so - how to do it on Mac Pro 6.1 (late 2013)
    - am I able to change display settings for initial screen (PAL/NTSC etc)

    Please note I'm using HDMI port (several cables already checked and two different monitors)

    Thanks for any help
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    I had this recently over the HDMI port connected to a 43" 4K.
    That's the only issue I've noticed so far other than this screen also only working at 30Hz when on another computer this cable and screen worked at 60Hz.
    I have a new HDMI cable and MiniDP - HDMI cable coming in early next week to try and see if any of this resolves.

    My MP is a 6c D500 machine on 10.12.2b
     
  8. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Hi D9B!

    I followed the following Apple article on how to reset the SMC for Apple Desktops.

    https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT201295

    Unfortunately it did not help, let us know if you have any luck!
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    I can't find it now, but in another thread someone mentioned that it is a known Sierra bug and will be fixed in an update.
     
  10. D9B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #11
    Still the same
    --- Post Merged, Nov 23, 2016 ---
    I've plugged my Mac via Thundebold cable to TB Display and everything looks normal.....
    It seems that only HDMI output is impacted by this problem
     
  11. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    That is some good news I guess, I personally don't have a thunderbolt display and rely on the HDMI connection of the Mac Pro to my external Asus monitor. I have tried a thunderbolt to HDMI adaptor going from the Mac Pro to the HDMI input on my monitor but the issue with the startup screen is still there.

    I believe you may be right that this is a HDMI issue, I have read a few other threads on here including other users who are having difficulty with HDMI displaying the correct resolutions since upgrading to macOS Sierra.
     
  12. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    I also have the Mac Pro MD878B/A (Late 2013), did you manage to solve this issue? I updated to the 10.12.2 Beta 6 a few hours ago hoping that it would solve it but the issue is still there.

    Also, I have noticed that when booting into internet recovery the startup screen becomes green instead. I'm really worried that this is a hardware issue and only have a few months of AppleCare remaining on my Mac Pro. Can anyone offer any advice?
     
  13. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
  14. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    That's my feeling also! I'm not sure how to go about this though.

    When speaking to Apple Support over a month ago they seemed confident that it would be taken care of in the 10.12.2 update. Is the final release likely to be much different to the Beta 6 I already have installed?

    I'm thinking of waiting until next week to see if the official 10.12.2 update is released and then getting in contact with Apple again to discuss a repair.

    The fact that the issue is still present when reverting to a previous version of OS X has me thinking that it's a hardware issue.
     
  15. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
    #16
    Yes, it's most likely a hardware issue as you've discovered by rolling back to previous versions
    and on the fact that there is an Apple repair program for that video card issue.
    Apple support is stringing you along. Do you want to gamble on their 'confidence'?
    It's a con alright. I sold computers for four years and saw it all the time.
    Don't settle for anything less than your complete satisfaction before your Apple Care runs out.
    Hth and good luck.
     
  16. JamesPDX Suspended

    JamesPDX

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    I've had this issue come up once in a while with two different 2012 Mini's, but the same HDMI monitor: A Viewsonic 27" Superclear IPS. A restart seems to fix it. The problem only occurs after the display has slept.

    This has happened since Mavericks.
     
  17. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Thanks Bubba Satori!

    This computer was a huge investment for me so I hope to get at least a few more years out of it.

    I'll post an update next week, fingers crossed!
     
  18. Miscellaneous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    Anyone had any luck with the macOS Sierra 10.12.2 update? I installed it earlier and it has not solved the issue.
     
  19. Zipski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #20
    I have absolutly same issue on my second monitor which connected via hdmi. I think it happen because kernel outputs wrong signal type to monitor. When the OS start it converts signal from yuv to regular rgb.
     
  20. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #21
    I had the same problem with my 2013 Mac Pro..Tech guy said it was the 2nd video card going out.

    Since there was a "silent" repair program they put in a new one for no cost.
     
  21. D9B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #22
    You mean that problem gone after Video Card has been replaced by Apple support? If so, how long they kept your computer?
     
  22. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #23
    I took it to an authorized reseller/repair place.

    Turnaround for replacing it was maybe 2 days.
     
  23. D9B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    #24
    Thanks for the info. I was worried it can takes two weeks - at least.
     
  24. FoamCup macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    #25
    I am having the exact same problem and I just got it yesterday. I tried resetting the PRAM and NVRAM but I only have so many fingers.

    The mac come pre installed with MacOS Sierra and I downloaded and installed the latest update. Yet, I still get the same pink startup.

    What if I were to try a TB2 to DP cable and hope that it will fix this problem. I am wanting to see if doing a clean install of Mac OS Sierra will fix this problem, but I am scared that doing a reinstall will void my AppleCare.

    Please help.
     

Share This Page