Mac Pro 2013 Random Restarts

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Catch, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. Catch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Received my MacPro a couple of days ago and unfortunately I am having random restarts. Anything from a few minutes to a couple of hours and everything from light Final Cut work to surfing the web...

    Running 10.9.2 with latest firmware update installed as well. Its a 6 core, D700, 32 ram, 512 drive, version. Running dual 30" CDs with Apples own Dual DVI to display port adapters. Anyone else having this happen? Nothing running right now but what came with the machine and it still does it...

    Just thought I would see if anyone has any suggestions before starting the Apple Care conversations...


    Thanks,


    C
     
  2. JQuick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    #2
    The following document describes how to boot into Apple Diagnostics.
    This may help isolate a problem before calling support.
    Synopsis is to disconnect all but keyboard, mouse, monitor, and network. then boot and hold down 'd' key.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5781
     
  3. Catch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Thanks for the info. Did the restart and it came back with No Issues Found and a code: ADP000 as well as a serial number.

    Very very strange and frustrating.


    C
     
  4. JQuick, Feb 27, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014

    JQuick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    #4
    Edit: Oops. You revealed this info already.

    Is your firmware up to date?
    Is your OS up to date?
     
  5. kunze50 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #5
    Could it be a faulty power button/switch? Maybe try to wear it in with the machine unplugged. I've found the button to be sticky on mine, though I'm not sure if this would cause random restarts..
     
  6. chrisn123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #6
    Frustrating.

    FYI, I am also running dual 30" Cinema Displays off Apple's Dual-Link DVI Displayport adapters connected to D700 GPU (although I have the 8C nMP). I've had no issues. Just mentioning that in case you were wondering.

    When you say "restart" do you mean a multi-lingual screen of death, or an actual spontaneous reboot (which power chime)? Might want to go to Terminal after a "restart" and use the uptime command to see if it was a hard system reboot (uptime would should longer than a few minutes) versus a soft restart of your session.

    If it literally blacks out and gives a power-on chime, I would guess it is a physical problem with your power plug or power supply. I don't think Apple's hardware testing could spot that.

    Perhaps manhandle the machine a bit (shake/tap) to see if you can induce a failure....
     
  7. thomasfalke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #7
    Maybe try running it with nothing attached, just keyboard mouse and screen?
     
  8. Switchfoot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    #8
    This is a shot in the dark, but are you using any kind of USB/Thunderbolt controller? i.e. Contour Shuttle, Blackmagic Shuttle, etc.?
     
  9. leventozler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
  10. Catch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Yeah all updated. Also reinstalled the OS and it still does it.

    C

    ----------

    Cheers will try that but it seems a bit weird. Anything helps though!

    C

    ----------


    Yeah it's a blackout with a chime. It's as if a hard reset, but with an automatic restart. Click off and very fast reboot to log in screen. When I do the uptime command it shows the computer starting from 0 when logged in again.

    I'll shake her around a bit!

    Thanks,


    C

    ----------

    Yeah first thing I did was uninstall everything and unplug anything I could apart from obviously screen, keyboard and mouse.

    Did think it may have been then divi to mini display port adapter, but seems that's been eliminated. Plus, I need it to run the computer...

    C

    ----------

    Nope nothing. Machine is as delivered by apple...

    So frustrating. Think it will be Apple Care call in the morning now...


    Thanks allot for all the suggestion guys!



    C
     
  11. Gav Mack, Feb 27, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014

    Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    The good old repair disk permissions with disk utility on the OSX disk from the recovery partition maybe?

    Member posted yesterday he had needed 30/40 repairs on a brand new nMP, worth a shot trying it.

    It does point more to a hardware glitch, possibly power supply related though.
     
  12. Catch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    Have tried to repair disk permissions many times. Just took the thing apart and 'manhandled' it as per previous suggestions to see if its something sticking, not seated properly. If this does not work I guess its back to the end of the line unfortunately. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    C
     
  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
    Bad luck getting the Jonah dude, though not sure whether repair centres have spare PSU's in stock yet cos it could be worth swapping that out. Not quite the back of the line if you rant at AppleCare hard but nice enough though..
     
  14. hackintosh5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #14
    I'm having a similar issue with my new Mac Pro quad 3.7 D700
    Only on the Mac OS X side I've had it happen 3 or 4 times now my monitor goes blank and then hear the Mac startup chime a few seconds later.
    Happened in Mac OS 10.9.1 and now in Mac OS 10.9.2

    But I've been running bootcamp with Windows 8.1 and no issues at all

    This is what I have in the system.log but isn't much to go on. But I'm just starting to look into it.

    2/27/14 7:36:15.000 PM kernel[0]: **** [IOBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport][SuspendDevice] -- Suspend -- suspendDeviceCallResult = 0x0000 (kIOReturnSuccess) -- 0x9800 ****
    2/27/14 7:36:30.097 PM WindowServer[111]: Display 0x745f94c7 captured by conn 0x1206f2/27/14
    2/27/14 7:41:24.000 PM bootlog[0]: BOOT_TIME 1393551684 0

    I'm running system diganostic but came back good
    I'll do the usual Disk Utility repairs just in case.
    Some reading I've done so far says it might be a spotlight index or Mac OS X doesn't like external drives after sleep.
    *The sleep part might be it since the restarts only happen a time later after the computer had been put to sleep.
    I do have a external USB 3.0 hard drive.

    If I find anything solid for a fix or the real reason I'll post back. Also if any of you have ideas or run into the same issue. Please post!
     
  15. bxs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #15
    The mini display connectors have to be connected to the Mac Pro's Thunderbolt ports and if possible on two different Thunderbolt busses. You cannot use DVI-to-mini display port adapter with a daisy chain setup. There's a kb article that discusses this.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5918
     
  16. bentleykf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #16
    Same issue here, thought I might be the only one.

    Using stock nMP 6-core with Pegasus2 raid and two displays.

    The symptom is a seemingly random blank screen then straight to startup/login screen.

    Two of these have occurred today, both in the last hour.

    Will ring up a Genius on Monday for more information, though over the weekend I'm happy to tryout any suggestions on this board.
     
  17. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #17
    Don't accept a repair on a three day old item of that value, or any value!

    INSIST on a replacement, item has arrived "faulty" - end of story.

    So sorry, I feel your pain but it will be all good soon :)

    M.
     
  18. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    Bugger... Return it as DOA and get a new, clean & mean machine! Don't settle for less.

    GL & Cheers
     
  19. Catch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    So after I took the computer apart and reseated the ram. Messed around with the power button, which did seem very sticky, and also opened and closed the latch to the cover many many times... Shook it around a bit... It has now been solid for the past 9 hours straight. Before it would restart anything from a few minutes up to about 2 hours.

    So far so good, but i will probably still get hold of AppleCare and discuss it as it is a worry.

    Thanks for all the suggestions!


    C
     
  20. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #20
    That really sounds like a probable cause for a cold reboot.
     
  21. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #21
    I would have thought that would cause a crash report more than a reboot or cold start. A power button that sticks in would be more of a culprit imo, no crash report there as the comp thinks you pressed the power button. Maybe.
     
  22. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #22
    Well that's better news, personally it would be straight back for a replacement
    if it were mine .... we're not talking about a £10 mouse here !!

    I would be concerned about the power button issue, as stated, a RAM issue
    would be reported in a crash log.

    M.
     
  23. Catch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    Yeah I am thinking about it, but the machine is a dream to use and I would miss it. No shutdown for over 17 hours now though... Have had it working under heavy load to see if I could make it switch off and all good so far.

    C
     
  24. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #24
    I'd log the power button issue with AppleCare and inform them that as soon as they have spare replacements in stock to contact you to arrange an immediate replacement. Can't go without a work computer!
     
  25. blackhawk10, Feb 28, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014

    blackhawk10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #25
    Received my MacPro a couple of days ago and unfortunately I am having random restarts. Anything from a few minutes to a couple of hours and everything from light Final Cut work to surfing the web...

    Running 10.9.2 with latest firmware update installed as well. Its a 6 core, D700, 32 ram, 512 drive, version. Running dual 30" CDs with Apples own Dual DVI to display port adapters. Anyone else having this happen? Nothing running right now but what came with the machine and it still does it...

    Just thought I would see if anyone has any suggestions before starting the Apple Care conversations...


    Thanks, C


    Same problem here with MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/64GB/1TB/D700. Contacted Apple Care, ended up in level 2 which sent me ACCD.dmg file to run, then forwarded to engineering for evaluation, which took 2 days. Results: they indicated it could be a possible CPU issue and asked if I would return the computer so engineering could evaluate it further. End Results: Apple provided excellent customer service replacing my MacPro, I'm now up and running on the replacement machine with no problems....and for some reason it feels faster!, however that could just be improvements in 10.9.2 ]
     

Share This Page