Mac Pro 2013 vs. Mac Pro 2013 - Performance related issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Raddock, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Raddock macrumors member

    Raddock

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Houston
    #1
    I've got a 2013 Mac Pro (6 core 32 GB RAM/D700) at home and one a work (6 core 64GB RAM/D500). So, more RAM, but slower video card at work.

    I've had the home Mac Pro since Feb, and the work one is about 3 weeks old.

    I've noticed a significant speed advantage with the work computer. Launching Photoshop from a reboot takes about 2 seconds. At home, it takes about 10 seconds. This is an extremely minor gripe, but it's nagging me every time I launch apps.

    Is this really the difference between a year old SSD and a brand new one? Can read/write performance degrade that much? Or is this some other issue related to RAM...I can't imagine it would be...either machine has enough memory to run Photoshop adequately. It could also be OS cruft...possibly? My home computer was upgraded from my old MacPro which probably has 6-7 OS upgrades of cruft.

    It's this way with almost every app, not just photoshop, so I'm pretty sure it's the year old SSD. I just didn't think I would see that much of a difference in performance.
     
  2. Gav Mack, Nov 20, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2014

    Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #2
    What sizes are your PCIe SSD in both systems?

    If the work one is 1tb there are cMP users fitting them in Sintech PCIe cards have noticed the second generation blades are 30% faster at 1.4gb sec instead of 1.05 gb. The general rule is bigger the SSD the faster it goes so a stock 256 will be slower than the 1tb

    But even that does not explain the difference between 2 and 10 seconds nor the ram either. My 3,1 8 core loads CS 6 in about 4-5 seconds I have yet to test this on my new flashed 4,1 yet. Repair the permissions from the recovery partition and if that does not improve it markedly flatten the OS and copy your data folders back manually for a clean install.
     
  3. jdphoto macrumors 6502

    jdphoto

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #3
    I second the clean install solution if repairing permissions doesn't work. It sounds like something is a bit off. Maybe pull up activity monitor to see if something is getting bogged down when you launch apps.
     
  4. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #4
    Photoshop launches in about 2 seconds for me with 1TB SSD on the nMP and only 12gb of RAM. I set this up as a new machine so that would be cause of the difference
     
  5. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #5
    Just under 3 seconds for my flashed 4,1 X2 SSD after yet another call to Adobe to reactivate this morning.
     
  6. Raddock thread starter macrumors member

    Raddock

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Houston
    #6
    I think I'll probably have to do a clean install. It's due anyway...

    But the disk sizes are different. I've got 500 GB at home and 1 TB at work.
     
  7. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    The 1Tb in the newer 6,1's are faster, see the end of big NGFF thread further down the board.

    I reckon a flattening should do the trick and after 6-7 upgrades more like well overdue!
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Yep a clean reinstall of the OS might do the trick. May also help if your work files are stored on another external HD and not in your boot drive. I usually reformat my boot drive regularly. My Photoshop CS5 loads in about 2.3 seconds on my classic 4.1 tower Mac Pro, Snow Leopard. I am using a spinning mechanical drive and don't have SSDs yet.
     
  9. tamoro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    #9
    It took 2.4 seconds on my Mac Pro 3.1 (early 2008) with SSD to open PS CC. :D
     
  10. vett93 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #10
    How do I do a clean install of the OS if I want to keep 10.9.5? After reformating the boot drive, do I have to install all 3rd party software and do the upgrades all over again?

    Thanks.
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11

    From App Store go purchased and download Mavericks and get disk maker x or terminal to make a bootable USB drive. Though if you have a fast internet connection 10.9 should download via internet recovery.

    Your third party apps will all need loading in again but doesn't normally take that long on a 6,1.
     
  12. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
    Hi Vett93. What I do is first clone my main boot drive to another HD using Carbon Copy Cloner. Then do a double check by booting to the cloned boot HD to make sure the cloning went well and the drive is working fine. After that using Disk Utility erase my main boot drive with security option "Zero Out Data". Once erasing is completed, do another clone of the main boot drive back to the newly erased HD. I would run DiskWarrior to rebuild the directory and repair permissions on the newly cloned boot HD. This way you don't need to reinstall your third party softwares. Here's another link about reformatting your HD. Scroll down on the bottom part of the discussion https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-4032 Thanks
     
  13. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Even though you have a slower SSD than your one at work, it shouldn't make that much difference.

    My cMP with a 512GB Samsung 840 Pro isn't as fast as yours, and PS CS6 takes LESS than 2 Sec. to fully load.
     

Share This Page