Mac Pro 2015 for Video Editing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by koday88, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. koday88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #1
    I'm completely new to this site and I am not a tech savvy guy at all. I was hoping to get advice on the exact Mac Pro configuration I should build in order to use it for HD video editing. I will be importing a wide range of HD footage from DSLRs, GoPros, and a Sony HXR-NX5U. I am pretty good a video editing, but like I said, I have no clue when it comes to what would be the best build for my particular situation. I'm not going to get crazy with the video editing, I just want a workstation that will keep up and get the job done. I'm looking to save as much money as possible, so any suggestions on the best build would be greatly appreciated. Here is where I am looking to build the Mac Pro.

    http://store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/mac-pro

    Thanks everyone
     
  2. Trhodezy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #2
    The base model will definitely suffice for video editing. It will be a tad slower than the other options however if money is tight, that's still a pretty awesome machine.
     
  3. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
    You can start from a lowly 2009 4-core and throw in faster processors, RAM, PCIe Express SSD M.2 blades, dual GPU.

    Even the 2013 base model you can upgrade the single socket cpu from 4-core to 8-core if you see the need.

    The mostly likely thing to look at is whether you are better off with a Classic Mac Pro (2009-2012) where you can drop in one or two Nvidia GTX or AMD, or the 2013 (6,1) is stuck with AMD D500 thru 700 (and the D700 option is an extra $1000 Build To Order) option.
     
  4. koday88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #4
    Just to clarify, which base model are you referring to, the Quad-Core and Dual GPU ($2,999.00) or the 6-Core and Dual GPU ($3,999.00)? Thanks again for the response and the help.
     
  5. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #5
    "Base Model" refers to the Quad Core 2013 Mac Pro with Dual D300 GPUs and a 256GB SSD.
     
  6. koday88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #6
    Awesome, thanks. Sorry for my lack of computer knowledge:D
     
  7. td2243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #7
    I've thought about doing the same, but I'm leaning toward the D700 and 6-core. It is an upgrade in price, but I think it would serve video editing well.

    Right now, I'm living with my 2013 iMac, but if a nMP update happens, I'll seriously consider swapping systems.
     
  8. carylee2002 macrumors member

    carylee2002

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #8
    I have a 5,1 Mac Pro…I upgraded my CPU from quad to hex core, put in 48gb ram but if your using quad core you only need 16gb and if hex then you will need min. 24gb. 2gb for every core. then I upgraded to Nvidia quadro 4000 and fx4800 card and a accelsior card for projects and SSD for my programs. I run a outside 4th raid drive for media at Raid 0 and multiple 7200 drives for backups for my system drives and library drives. Hope this helps.
     
  9. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #9
    There is no rule for how much memory a processor needs or the apps can use to best advantage.

    You could have a 3.2GHz 4-core and still want 3x8GB or more.
     
  10. tjwilliams25 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Location:
    Montana
    #10
    If video editing is your game, the newest Mac Pro is an amazing offer. However, if you aren't looking for deadline-meeting workhorse that's going to be able to crank out video at an exuberant pace, then you may be able to get away with an iMac. I recently purchased a retina iMac and I've been very happy with the performance. I'm an independent filmmaker, so I do quite a bit of video editing, and I've found this Mac to meet, and sometimes exceed, my expectations. I recently had to cut a 2 and a half hour project and it went as smooth as butter. Exporting took just over half an hour. Compared to my old iMac, which took almost 2 hours to export a 10 minute short, this was a welcome change. I'm sure the new Mac Pro would half, or even quarter, my export time, but as of right now that's not really a priority for me.

    So, I guess what I'm trying to say is that you don't have to go for the best if the second-best meets your needs. Also, built-in 5k screen!
     
  11. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #11
    save 500 bucks and get the refurbished base model nMP
     
  12. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #12
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/G0P89LL/A/Refurbished-Mac-Pro-35GHz-6-Core-Intel-Xeon-E5

    Best config you can get for around 4K$.
     
  13. td2243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #13
    That's the configuration I've been wanting too.
     
  14. fathergll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #14

    Get a refurb model

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/FE253LL/A/refurbished-mac-pro-37ghz-quad-core-intel-xeon-e5
     
  15. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #15
    The OP never mentioned what software was to be engaged for projects as well as the amount of "footage" at any given time to be operated upon.

    While it is often true a lesser spec system can do the work, sometimes it pays to get a bit more at least on the processor side.

    Does the software to be used really exploit the ATI video? If not, then perhaps the 300 or 500 versions are a reasonable deal. (Open GL vs CL)

    Does the software take advantage of more memory (pretty much a good idea to include as much memory as you can when working with all sorts of media files)?

    Internal vs external drives - I couldn't imagine getting less than 1/2 gig of storage internally and still know I will have to add external storage via USB3 or TBolt. - Something to consider.

    In my mind, my knee jerk starting point would be a 6 core, minimal RAM (as I would buy 3rd party), ATI 500 cards and 512 drive. Later, I can pack the RAM and possibly newer video cards will be available for a swap out (hopefully). I base these specs on working with both still and video files.
     
  16. Trhodezy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #16
    Quad-core dual GPU. :) and you're welcome!
     
  17. burnsranch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #17
    The real advantage in video editing is the thunderbolt connections. I have 13TB of videos that I have in a video database and I can edit and search on my TB raid5 drive at about 60 frames per second. I have a base nMP with max ram. My video editing to date is pretty basic. I am interested to see how much metal improves FCPX, but I have been impressed with the base model for my needs
     
  18. h9826790, Aug 9, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2015

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    "Save money as much as possible" AND "buy the new Mac Pro" doesn't sounds very right to me in this case.

    For just HD video (not 4K or some crazy video editing). The old Mac Pro is more than enough.

    The new Mac Pro is not something "just a workstation can get the job done", but "an relatively expensive beauty small form factor workstation". I am not saying the new Mac Pro is bad, but it seems it provide more than what you looking for. And you pay for these extra factors accordingly.

    Anyway, I think you need to tell the others which software you are going to use. Some of them works really well with the new Mac Pro (e.g. FCP X). Some others may be not. Or some software may work better on the Old Mac Pro because of more GPU choices.

    In fact, the latest iMac may also be a good choice for HD video editing. None of the Mac Pro can beat it in some MP4 encoding operation (due to the iMac CPU support Quick Sync).
     
  19. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #19
    If HD is as high as you are going then you don't need the nMP. I edit 6k fine on my 2012 MacPro. My old 2006 MacPro still does the job for HD work.
     
  20. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #20

Share This Page