Mac Pro 3,1 and Apricorn Velocity Solo x1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by devon807, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. devon807 macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    Hello all, I own a Mac Pro 3,1 and was wondering if anyone had any issues with this card in their mac. :)
     
  2. mathemabeat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    It should work fine.

    I had a solo x2 and upgraded to a duo x2 and they work great with an ssd. I use Samsung 850 Evo 500 gig ssd's.

    I can see and use the early boot screen with either card in my 2009 machine.
     
  3. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #3
    I, too, have the Apricorn Velocity Duo x2 in my 2008 and 2010 Mac Pros. They work very well. Don't hesitate to get one. Samsung EVO or Pro SSDs are fast and available at a good price when they come up on a sale which is just about weekly at Newegg.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    My experience with a Velocity Solo X1 and a 3,1 was not too good. I would recommend avoiding this combo.
     
  5. Twimfy macrumors 6502a

    Twimfy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I on the other hand have that exact setup and it works really well :-/
     
  6. devon807 thread starter macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
  7. mac65 macrumors member

    mac65

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #7
    See my experience in this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-pro-early-2008-3-1-not-booting-velocity-solo-x1.1890370

    Basically, mine did work as a secondary drive but I could not boot OSX from it. Turns out I had an old card. Got a replacement, and that worked fine. Only problem is that one cannot install bootcamp on it and boot from it (at least now Win7, see http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/velocity-solo-x1-and-bootcamp.1681583/). So, you need to keep your Windows system on one of the 4 drive bays. Maybe Win10 does better, haven't been able to try that, yet.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    Unless you can tell which vintage of the card you are getting, I still say stay away from it.
     

Share This Page