Mac Pro 3.1 NVME Drive Natively Booting

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jasonmacpro31, May 13, 2019.

  1. jasonmacpro31 macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #1
    hi guys I have the above Mac Pro.


    this may have already been asked here but can I ask

    how do we get this to natively boot off an NVME drive ?

    ive got one and its reading and writing fast in the os but won't boot from it

    any help is appreciated

    many thanks

    Jason
     
  2. Ludacrisvp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #2
    You need to modify the BootROM to add the drivers to support booting from it. Also a good idea to add APFS boot support into the BootROM at the same time.
     
  3. tempbeta macrumors newbie

    tempbeta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    #3
  4. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #4
    thanks for the reply guys anybody know where I can get the Nvme.ffs.zip from as the link says its out of date for that file

    thanks
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    No one should use the old NVMe EFI driver from Mac Pro late-2013. It was removed because it's compiled with a instruction set that MP3,1 don't have, by a compiler 5 years later than the one used by MP3,1 EFI and caused bricks.

    If you really want a NVMe EFI module that should work without much trouble with MP3,1, extract it from 10.14.5 MP5,1 firmware (144.0.0.0.0). It's the MP51.fd inside /Install\ macOS\ Mojave.app/Contents/Resources/Firmware folder.
     
  6. Ludacrisvp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #6
    This makes it sound like I should redo this modification on my 3,1 with the newer nvme module that you mentioned.
     
  7. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #7

    hi thanks for the reply ive got the OSX 10.14 installer can I use it from there or should I obtain the 10.14.5 installer and find the file in there ?


    also if I brick the Mac can I get it back with a rom recovery ??


    thanks
     
  8. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    Only the full MAS installer for 10.14.5 have 144.0.0.0.0


    Firmware Recovery is theoretical, I never got it to work with my bricks.
     
  9. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #9
    or better still if I back up my rom from my Mac Pro 3.1 will someone mod it for me ??

    thanks
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #10
    Just to be clear, I talked about this before and it not changed.

    I'm not going to help anyone with MP3,1 APFS/NVMe injection.

    Once bricked, the chance of recovery is slim to none, needing logic board replacement. I bricked three MP3,1s before giving up, with just one recovery after desoldering the FWB and externally reprogramming it.
     
  11. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #11

    ok no problem thanks for the reply :)
     
  12. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #12
    hi guys if someone could help me extract the NVME driver from the Mojave firmware update id appreciate it

    that way I can follow the instructions to get it in to my original firmware

    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  13. tempbeta, May 15, 2019
    Last edited: May 15, 2019

    tempbeta macrumors newbie

    tempbeta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    #13
  14. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #14
    Remove it, anyone that flash your BootROM will have a clone of your hardware IDs and Apple will block your Mac from accessing iCloud/FaceTime/Messages.

    Never use a BootROM from another Mac…
     
  15. tempbeta macrumors newbie

    tempbeta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    #15
    thanks for your remind! and i used to think all the bootroms are the same, like pc bios ...
     
  16. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #16
    Even with PC BIOS, from 2000 they already have MAC Addresses and other hardware IDs into it and can't be shared anymore.

    Sharing a BootROM is a security nightmare, a lot of personal info is there, like iCloud credentials, Wi-Fi credentials, your email, full name…
     
  17. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #17
    thanks guys ive just picked up a Mac Pro 4.1 for free should I just focus on that machine and upgrade it to a 5.1 ?

    thanks
     
  18. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #18
    Yes. Forget the MP3,1 for NVMe.
     
  19. Alex Sanders74 macrumors regular

    Alex Sanders74

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #19
    As tsialex had said, you should delete those ROM dumps you posted so your personal information isn't available for the world to look at.
     
  20. jasonmacpro31 thread starter macrumors member

    jasonmacpro31

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    #20
    thanks guys upgraded the 4.1 to a 5.1 upgraded the OS to Mojave and now on the latest firmware
     

Share This Page

19 May 13, 2019