Mac Pro 3,1 old IDE in Optical Bay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by honeycombz, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. honeycombz macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #1
    I've got an old Seagate 40GB SGC2A drive I wanted to use for miscellaneous backups. Wondering if this can be installed in second optical bay or no. It's got the old IDE/ATAPI looking port on back not SATA.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You should be able to install it and connect it to the internal PATA port.
     
  3. honeycombz thread starter macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    The link works fine for me, try it again. It does load a little slow and have a blank white page for a bit before opening.
     
  5. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #6
    This device is used to connect PATA drive to a SATA port.
    You do not need that.

    I belive the 3,1 optical drive is PATA.

    I would not rely on a 40GB (old) drive for misc backups.
    You are better off with a USB 64GB or something like that...
    Upgrade to a new(er) SATA drive that is not as old...
     
  6. honeycombz thread starter macrumors 6502

    honeycombz

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #7
    it's a redundant backup, not primary. just figured i'd put it to use.
     
  7. Ph.D. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #8
    It will work with no adapters, etc., needed.

    I've done it. Having PATA available in the DVD bay saved me on an occasion or two when I had to retrieve something from an old drive. About the only issue that might come up is the configuration pins, though I left those alone and didn't experience any problems.

    It was fun seeing an old 20 GB drive from (I think) an upgraded Power Mac 7500 show up on my desktop! It was like time travel.

    (I do agree, though, that an old drive like that is not optimum for use as a backup, at least due to being power hungry and adding noise.)
     
  8. flehman macrumors regular

    flehman

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    #9
    Also you might get added noise/vibration if the drive isn't secured inside the bay. Many people have left a SSD to sit loose in the optical bay since there are no moving parts but s HDD has moving parts and could be a different story. There are products out there that adapt the optical drive bracket to a 2.5 or 3.5 HDD interface. Just a thought.
     

Share This Page