Mac pro 3,1 Premiere pro video card

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
when You buy a card for a mac does it have to specify that it is for mac ? or I can just get any brand that is a gt 640.. I dont really understand how the whole gpu thing works. I own a mac pro 3,1 2008 2.8- 8core I want a graphics card that would enhance my adobe premiere pro editing. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks. i'm on a budget so please dont suggest any 300 dollar video card.
thanks !!!!
 

Macsonic

macrumors 68000
Sep 6, 2009
1,598
58
when You buy a card for a mac does it have to specify that it is for mac ? or I can just get any brand that is a gt 640.. I dont really understand how the whole gpu thing works. I own a mac pro 3,1 2008 2.8- 8core I want a graphics card that would enhance my adobe premiere pro editing. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks. i'm on a budget so please dont suggest any 300 dollar video card.
thanks !!!!
An unflashed PC Windows GPU will work on your 3,1 Mac Pro as long as you download and install the Nvidia web driver or if the OSX you're using has built in drivers for your card. A non-flashed GPU won't provide a boot screen. You can have MVC flashed your 640GT if you already have that card for a small fee. Another choice I could think of is the Nvidia 570GTX which is also offered by MVC at below $300 http://www.macvidcards.com/store/p15/Nvidia_GTX_570_GB_1.25_GB_or_2.5_GB.html
 
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

SDAVE

macrumors 68040
Jun 16, 2007
3,381
443
Nowhere
Some unflashed cards may run at PCIe 1.0 so you're losing performance.

FYI OP you can get a GTX680 Mac Edition (which was an official nVidia release) for a low amount on eBay. Not sure it has enough Cuda cores to support premire pro though, you may get issues.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

Fl0r!an

macrumors 6502a
Aug 14, 2007
906
526
ALL unflashed/unmodified cards run @ PCIE 1.0 in a 3,1. Doesn't matter much for gaming, not sure about Premiere though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
It's so complicated , I see cards that have different Gb's does that affect premiere's performance in anyway? . If anyone can help I'll appreciate your time.
Thanks !!
 

nigelbb

macrumors 65816
Dec 22, 2012
1,031
199
The low cost bargain is a used GTX570. It works out of the box with native drivers. There is no boot screen but if your Mac Pro 3,1 still has the original ATIRadeonHD 2600 XT then you can keep that for when you need to see a boot screen. The GTX570 has plenty of CUDA cores & is faster than the GTX680 for applications that use CUDA e.g. Premier Pro.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
The low cost bargain is a used GTX570. It works out of the box with native drivers. There is no boot screen but if your Mac Pro 3,1 still has the original ATIRadeonHD 2600 XT then you can keep that for when you need to see a boot screen. The GTX570 has plenty of CUDA cores & is faster than the GTX680 for applications that use CUDA e.g. Premier Pro.

Would a GTX660 be faster or better than the GTX570 ?
 

orph

macrumors 68000
Dec 12, 2005
1,884
391
UK
what version of premier are you using & what tasks do you do?
what GPU do you have?

a GPU dose less than you think most the time, depends on the jobs you do/want to do.
for 99% of tasks i do i see little GPU use in premier, got a bigger speed up from fast media drives & ram but i do not use motion graphics OR AE much.
GPU mostly helps with real time playback not render times.

edit
more info on the sticky https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/
look at number 6 on the list which mentions the 570 and explains

660 is cheep now, might be worth looking at the 7xx they are the same price where i live but the 570 benchmarks might be worth checking if video editing is what you want the card for and not gaming

look at adobe's forums or https://forums.creativecow.net/
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
what version of premier are you using & what tasks do you do?
what GPU do you have?

a GPU dose less than you think most the time.
for 99% of tasks i do i see almost no GPU use in premier, got a bigger speed up from fast media drives & ram.
I have 2600 the original that shipped with the early 2008 Mac,
 

orph

macrumors 68000
Dec 12, 2005
1,884
391
UK
how low is you budget?
how much ram do you have?
what os are you on?
what version of premier are you using?
what is your drive setup?
have you correctly set premiers preferences?
 

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
how low is you budget?
how much ram do you have?
what os are you on?
what version of premier are you using?
what is your drive setup?
have you correctly set premiers preferences?
I have 32gb of the 667mhz sticks
I just installed Yosemite and now I can't open aperture
I have premiere cs6 I haven't checked if the upgrade affected anything there
I have set some of them to my liking, but any suggestions are welcomed , I mainly want the card to maybe enhance my premiere playback and allow me to play a few games on boot camp with windows 7 .
Thanks for the help!!
 
Last edited:

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
what version of premier are you using & what tasks do you do?
what GPU do you have?

a GPU dose less than you think most the time, depends on the jobs you do/want to do.
for 99% of tasks i do i see little GPU use in premier, got a bigger speed up from fast media drives & ram but i do not use motion graphics OR AE much.
GPU mostly helps with real time playback not render times.

edit
more info on the sticky https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/
look at number 6 on the list which mentions the 570 and explains

660 is cheep now, might be worth looking at the 7xx they are the same price where i live but the 570 benchmarks might be worth checking if video editing is what you want the card for and not gaming

look at adobe's forums or https://forums.creativecow.net/
On that price range Which of the 7xx would work with the early 2008 Mac Pro? There's a few places where I saw the gtx660 confirmed to work.. I want something that someone has confirmed to work. Thanks for the help.
 

orph

macrumors 68000
Dec 12, 2005
1,884
391
UK
Cs6 so dont look at ati cards, look at the GPU thread i linked to find if the card you want works or do a search on the forum.
good luck

might be worth looking in to the 7xx cards over the 6xx they seem about the same price on ebay
(760/770 look cheep now on ebay)
 
  • Like
Reactions: jolanyehis

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
Cs6 so dont look at ati cards, look at the GPU thread i linked to find if the card you want works or do a search on the forum.
good luck

might be worth looking in to the 7xx cards over the 6xx they seem about the same price on ebay
(760/770 look cheep now on ebay)
 

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
I Saw you message late, today I order a evga GTX 660 2gb., Can I keep both cards inside the mac the GTX660 and the 2600XT, does that affect anything?
 

jolanyehis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2015
13
0
I installed a Evga gtx 660 and it worked, but when I tried to see if it would work with my windows 7 boot camp, it only showed a black screen, I installed the 2600xt back and searched for a solution and finally made it worked ,( it was a mobile driver) after installing it I was able to get video from it, . Now my question is should I remove the 2600xt or can I keep both cards in, would this affect any performance ?
Thanks to anyone who can help !
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.