Mac Pro 3,1 Running Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LarrikinAus, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. LarrikinAus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #1
    Hi Folks,


    I've decided to create a specific thread for the Mac Pro 3,1 as that has its own unique set of circumstances to get Sierra up and running.

    The good news is, after a LOT of help from Netkas, it looks like I'm finally there and have Sierra running on Mac Pro 3,1

    It's installing now.

    I will produce detailed, clear, unambiguous, instructions on how to get Sierra running on the Mac Pro. Given everything I have learned from repeated, failed installs, I now know what works and what doesn't, and you'll find that if you follow the instructions precisely, it isn't difficult to get it up and running. Nor will it be maintaining it.

    NVIDIA has also released the web driver for Sierra - which is great news.

    http://us.download.nvidia.com/7tx5AvsWQd8nYQnjJcntrzcxTzpKACuH/WebDriver-367.05.10.05b03.pkg
     
  2. tralfaz macrumors member

    tralfaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #2
    As a fellow 3,1 owner I thank you for your efforts. I hope all goes well. I feel I will need to keep this beasty running as long as possible, as Apple is unlikely to make a machine that I wont have severe reservations about.
     
  3. LarrikinAus, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    LarrikinAus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #3
    OK, I'm up and running.

    I can't get the NVIDIA web driver to work with my maxwell card (GTX950) so right now I am using my crappy 8800GT.

    I don't know if its the NVIDIA web driver at fault but its a problem to solve.

    If I type this in terminal, I get this error:

    Mac-Pro-Server:~ macpro$ sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1"

    Password:

    nvram: Error setting variable - 'boot-args': (iokit/common) general error

    Mac-Pro-Server:~ macpro$
     
  4. ProjectManager101 Suspended

    ProjectManager101

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #4
    Thank you! that is actually the Mac Pro I have and just a day before the keynote I got a second 30" Apple cinema display and 1TB ssd internal drive from OWC. That computer still os useful, no need for Apple to ditch it. Thank you very much.
     
  5. LarrikinAus, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016

    LarrikinAus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #5
    I can't get my Mac Pro to even boot with my GTX 950 anymore. It gets stuck in a kernel panic. I don't know if its because the NVIDIA web driver is broken or whether something more sinister in the underlying MacOS that is causing the issue.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2016 ---
    I see that the NVIDIA driver works with PC's / Hackintosh community - but not with the Mac Pro 3,1. I suspect based on this command failing sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1" that something more fundamental has changed with MacOS and the way it boots.
     
  6. tralfaz macrumors member

    tralfaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #6
    Well half a success is better than nothing I guess. Did you even bother with OS provided driver? I imagine the web driver will need to be compiled against the macOS 12 kernel. How is the desktop performance? I read about very bad animations.
     
  7. LarrikinAus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #7
    The OS provided driver does not support maxwell NVIDIA cards hence why NVIDIA publish the web drivers. Animations seem fine - and I bet a heck of a lot better when I finally get my card working which supports metal.
     
  8. pat500000 macrumors 604

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #8
    Meanwhile....Tim cook and his friends read this post....
    Tim: code 66
    Craig: yes sir. Operation shut down for them.
     
  9. developer13245 macrumors 6502

    developer13245

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    Thanks for the efforts:) I have a 3,1 as a 2nd / back up machine. It served me for a long time before I picked up a 5,1 in 2014 (I don't do trash cans)...
     
  10. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #10
    I ended up using mainly Windows instead of Mac OS on my 3,1. Win10 has no issues with the graphics card, runs smoothly and does not force me to constantly work around Apple's planned obsolence measures.
     
  11. LarrikinAus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #11
    Boom - all sorted. Now running my GTX950 card on Sierra MacOS using my 34" DELL monitor at 3440 x 1440. Everything is now operational. Siri is nice on the computer. I've already asked her to perform a number of searches for me in google :)
     
  12. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    Now take some time and make step by step tuto for others, based on tutorial you used. I may correct some steps so it would be good start for everyone.
     
  13. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Is that using the build-in Nvidia drivers or using the web beta drivers? Still no Pascal support? :/
     
  14. LarrikinAus, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016

    LarrikinAus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    #14
    Absolutely will do and will run it past you to ensure its all correct. A big thank you again for all your help - you have been so good :)
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    I am using the web driver to get that card supported. No Pascal support yet... it's coming though from what I have heard.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    Here is something cool:

    Screen Shot 2016-06-15 at 9.03.31 pm.png

    Now - in terms of a step by step tutorial on how to get this working - please bear with me. I will do this on the weekend as I want to do it properly and make it as simple as possible for you to get it working. My dad is in town for 48 hours and I need to spend family time with him for the next 48 hours. That said, if you have any direct questions, please message me and I'll do my best to help you. On the weekend, I will write and post the tutorial.

    In terms of degree of difficulty of being able to follow the tutorial, I'd rate it fairly easy. It is straight forward - there are a few steps that you'll need to follow, but they will be straight forward. I also know the pitfalls, so I'll also be able to warn you on what not to do as well :)

    Maintaining it is very easy. It's a matter of deleting one file on boot post implementing an update. Again, I'll be very specific on exactly how to do that.
     
  15. vicentk macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    Thanks your information I'll waiting your tutorial.
     
  16. MattMaber macrumors newbie

    MattMaber

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    #16
    [​IMG]

    Looks like it should hopefully not be to bad for MacPro 3,1 owners. You mention Nvidia, how about my ATI?
     
  17. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    I'd be surprised if Sierra contained drivers for the Radeon 2xxx series, but I don't have access to it currently.
     
  18. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #18
    it still has drivers for 2xxx-4xxx series, not sure if it works tho
     
  19. MattMaber macrumors newbie

    MattMaber

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    #19
    Would they drop these? I guess if theyre dropping the 3,1 ...
     
  20. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
  21. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    I guess the engineers have no idea which Mac will be supported at the very beginning. So, they have to build the driver for 3,1 and test it accordingly. Therefore, some drivers leave inside the new system for unsupported Mac is totally possible.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    Very interesting title in that 6870 link, IMO, a long title which try to confuse the buyer that this is a Genuine Mac Edition card, but in fact it just saying this card can be use in the Genuine Mac Pro.
     
  22. gpzjock, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  23. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #23
    I have never tried bootcamp in my 3.1 mac pro. I have dual cpu, I heard you need windows 10 professional to use both cpu, is this true? I think I may need to start converting over to windows...
     
  24. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #24
    I just spent some pretty pennies on a flashed 7950 for my Octo 3,1 FCPX rig to keep it limping along, then they drop support. I'm just editing 1080p, so nothing too heavy, but would have been nice to keep up the latest OS. Guess I should be glad Apple didn't drop support for all cMPs at this point...
     
  25. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #25
    They certainly did, when new. It's a garbage card and IIRC, Apple had a recall for that card due to a bunch of field failures. Certainly MattMaber can do better.

    Lou
     

Share This Page