Mac pro 4,1 (2009) + GTX680

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dxm765, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. dxm765 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #1
    Hello everyone! i browsed around and didnt find the answers i was looking for and didnt want to revive a dead thread.

    I am planning on purchasing a Mac pro 4,1 (2009) with dual quad cores. It is coming stock with a ATi RADEON HD4870 512Mb....that simply doesnt cut it for me. i have a GTX680 2GB laying around and read i can flash the rom to make it a Mac-able card....

    The GTX680 has a 8 pin +6 pin...How can i power the 8 +6 or do i only need to power it with 2 6pins?

    Any suggestions would be nice, i would of gotten a newer Mac...but my budget doesnt allow for it.
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    My advice, send to to MVC to be modified. He is a member of this forum and also has an eBay store.

    Lou
     
  3. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    Like what Flowrider suggested, have the 680gtx modified by MVCards to make it Mac version. Though as far as I know, 680gtx only come with 2 six pin power cables. Only the 700 series have an 8 pin and 6 pin.
     
  4. dxm765 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
  5. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #5
    Search a cable or adapter 6pin to 8pin will work.
     
  6. networkguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Location:
    Virginia, US
    #6
    The GTX 680 4GB I bought from MVC has 6 + 8 but works fine with just two 6-pin cables, no adapter.
     
  7. dxm765 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #7
    Well with all the respect for MVC does anyone have some contact info for this gentleman?
     
  8. dxm765 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #9
  9. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^^^^I just tried it - Worked for me. Anyway, his forum name is MacVidCards.

    Lou
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    don't worry about this.

    Some Nvidia cards (GTX680 4GB and GTX760) have an 8 pin plug but it is "optional"

    Just plug in a 6 pin and forget about it.
     
  11. dxm765 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #12
    I am not sure if my Mac i purchased is coming with the required 6 pin adaptor, can you recommend one?

    And i did not see an option to message you, even though i have verified my account can you please send me a message.
     
  12. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    He's saying you don't need an adapter. Just plug the six pin cable into the 8 pin connector. However, if you want a boot screen you'll need it to be flashed.

    Lou
     
  13. dxm765, Sep 13, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014

    dxm765 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #14
    I read on another thread there's a mini PCI express connector on the motherboard that I need to plug into to get the extra power, unless I am mistaken and that is a different model... Sorry for any confusion I may have caused, this is a whole new world for me trying to customize a Mac I don't have in my hands until Thursday. Just trying to get my ducks in a row :)
     
  14. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    No worries. You can plug the 2 6 pin cables on the 2 power connector located at the lower left side, near the pcie fan. Check the one labeled "C" ,where you will connect the power cables.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page