Mac Pro 4,1/5,1 - AMD Vega 64 Power Requirements / Cables Needed ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 64info, Dec 12, 2018.

  1. 64info macrumors newbie

    64info

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #1
    Hello.

    I am looking for an answer before I hook up a new Vega 64. I would like to confirm that the 2 power sources I am hooking up will be enough juice for this card. This method worked for my Titan xp, but I see the Vega 64 is a little more power hungry.

    Machine: Mac Pro 5,1

    Power cable from motherboard to Vega 64:

    https://www.amazon.com/Ochoos-Dual-P...nector+mac+pro

    Power cable from drive bay to Vega 64:

    https://www.amazon.com/15-Pin-8-Pin-...TA+Power+Cable

    SPECS For Vega 64:

    https://www.amd.com/en/products/grap...eon-rx-vega-64

    Appreciate the help.
     
  2. IndioX, Dec 12, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018

    IndioX macrumors regular

    IndioX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    austria/europe
    #2
    with the motherboardcable you get 150w max,
    and one drive bay deliver only 55w, and this
    will be not enough on time and kill your backplane

    good is external PSU or best is the pixlas mod:

    http://thehouseofmoth.com/mac-pro-pixlas-mod/
     
  3. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #3

    Attached Files:

  4. 64info thread starter macrumors newbie

    64info

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #4
    Thanks! That's an awesome write up!
    --- Post Merged, Dec 12, 2018 ---
    Interesting! So did you flash the Vega64 with the Vega56 ROM?? (I am not too familiar with doing that, is it a pretty straight forward process??) Are you just using the power from the motherboard?? Notice any difference without the extra power?

    thanks!
     
  5. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #5
    Yes, with Atiflash under windows:


    https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/
     
  6. 64info thread starter macrumors newbie

    64info

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #6
    thanks again for the quick reply..

    So just to confirm, are you using the power from your motherboard or motherboard and drive bay with this ROM mod?
     
  7. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #7
    Yes.
     
  8. 64info thread starter macrumors newbie

    64info

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #8
    Zozomester,

    I don't mean to bother you with the same question, but maybe there is some language confusion.

    After your ROM update, what do you require for power on the Vega64:

    Motherboard OR Motherboard & Drive Bay

    Appreciate the help.
     
  9. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #9
    Only from Motherboard: 2x mini6Pin to 8Pin.
     
  10. 64info thread starter macrumors newbie

    64info

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #10
    Thank you Sir!

    Any drawbacks from running the Vega56 ROM on a Vega64?
     
  11. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #11
    10-15% lower than Vega64, but 40-50% faster than the RX580.
     
  12. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    in what workflow... Just curious.
     
  13. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #14
    So how much slower than a regular 64 is yours now?
     
  14. zozomester macrumors 6502

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #15
    10-15% lower than Vega64
     

Share This Page

14 December 12, 2018