Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1), editing and viewing 2.7k & 4k video, where is my bottleneck?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Messy, Jan 17, 2017.

  1. Messy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I own a few drones.

    I shoot in 2.7k and 4k, and I can barely view the videos without my Mac playing them choppy.

    Where are my bottlenecks, and is it viable to edit using a machine like this?

    Samsung 850 SSD
    2 x 2.66ghz Hex Core's
    32GB RAM
    GTX 770

    [​IMG]

    TIA
     
  2. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
  3. Messy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #3
    Videos play really choppy, and that's if at all, any 1080p stuff is fine but any high bit rate or 2.7k/4k just goes to ****.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 17, 2017 ---
    Either AE or Premier, but even playing in VLC or Quicktime my Mac has issues.
     
  4. mastermamo, Jan 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017

    mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #4
    It's the graphic card that's the bottleneck. U need more VRAM especially when playing back 2K/4K/5K.
     
  5. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #5
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Not to doubt what you said, but isn't the GTX 770 more powerful than the dGPUs in the 2016 MBP, yet they can play 2K/4K without an issue?

    Could it possibly be a CUDA driver that needs updating, as they're on Sierra? http://www.macvidcards.com/drivers.html

    Just spitballing here by the way, I'm happy to be corrected if I'm way off the mark. :)
     
  7. Messy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #7
    I play the same videos on my MBP 13" which has the Intel 6100 GPU, and they play just fine. So you're sure it's the graphics card?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 17, 2017 ---
    Im reasonably confident it's not the graphics card.
     
  8. PaulB-UK macrumors newbie

    PaulB-UK

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'd be tempted to try a SATA III card and a separate SATA III drive and see if the videos play any better from that drive.

    But that's just my twopennyworth :)

    Good luck.

    Paul B.
     
  9. Messy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
  10. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #10
    Hmm, okay. The drivers listed on MacVidCards begin with 367.xx.xx, so I'm not sure if there's an update for Sierra that the CUDA control panel isn't finding (though obviously I'd hold off on updating until somebody gives a second opinion). Or perhaps MVC's are flashed differently. :)

    Was the issue persisting on previous iterations of OS X?
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Try this player. It's still in Alpha stage, but in my own experience, is the best player for 4K video so far. Can easily play high bitrate (100Mb/s) 4K H265 video on my Mac smoothly.

    https://lhc70000.github.io/iina/
     
  12. Messy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #12
    Running latest driver.

    Unfotunately I can't tell you whether I would have had this issue on prior OS's as I didn't edit 2.7 and 4k back then.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #13
    Thank you for your patience Messy. I'm afraid we'll have to go through some messy troubleshooting.

    For diagnostic purposes, please could you create a new Administrator user account and just try to play a 4K video though that? Is it still choppy?
     
  14. Messy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #14
    I'll get it testing as well as the 5k player.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 17, 2017 ---
    I shall have to do it in a few hours, just in the middle of a project, sorry.

    What's your thinking regarding a different account?
     
  15. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #15
    CUDA has nothing to do with normal video playback. CUDA is more for rendering purposes.

    I agree with Messy regarding trying a SATA III drive
    --- Post Merged, Jan 17, 2017 ---
    Getting this and testing now as we speak
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    Sure no need SATA III, because I am just using native SATA II port, can play back high bitrate 4K video smoothly. AFAIK, the player (software side), and CPU (single core performance, hardware side) are usually the most limiting factors for 4K video playback on the cMP.

    A video (end product) usually won't go over 100Mb/s, but SATA II can go up to ~250MB/s (2000Mb/s) in real world. It won't bottleneck the playback.
     
  17. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #17
    WTH!!! IINA requires 10.10 beside 10.10.5? What on earth. That's ridiculous

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #18
    [QUOTE AFAIK, the player (software side), QUOTE]

    Where do u get AFAIK from? I can't seem to find it anywhere
     
  19. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #19
    Hopefully diagnose if it's some software item causing a problem... it's a long shot but for the minimum effort, worth trying to see if it's any better, then work backwards from there.

    AFAIK is an acronym "as far as I know" :)
     
  20. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #20
    Wahahahaha I feel like a total noob now. I'm like why the hell can Google not find AFAIK Player anywhere hehe

    [​IMG]

    Did this before anyone could beat me to it lol
     
  21. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #21
    What codec do you shoot in?

    Assuming you don't have any hardware problems, your SSD, RAM and GFX are not a problem.
     
  22. sotiredofsoup macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #22
    This is probably totally unrelated as you're talking about playback (I'm assuming you mean the final exported movie file) but when I mix frame rates in FCPX I get really choppy timeline playback. I don't remember if I had this issue in premiere as I switched to FCPX over Christmas when I got my drone. I try to keep frame rates consistent per project now.
     
  23. Synchro3, Jan 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #23
    You are awesome! Thank you sir for the tip! :) This is the first player able to play 4K UHD h.265 footage in 10 bit on my Mac Pro! And I'm not talking about Youtube videos, but real h.265 footage. Actually it's the first application that uses the 10 Bit pixel depth (ARGB2101010) of my ASUS PB279 monitor on OS X, wow.

    It uses all 6 cores/12 threads of the W3690 3.46GHz (which goes up the 85° C)! Unfortunately in hectic moments in the movie the W3690 can not deliver 24 fps, so I think the CPU is the bottleneck (the GTX Titan X has no h.265 hardware acceleration).

    I will try this player in a few days with my Mac Mini with a GTX 960 eGPU (the GTX 960 and GTX 950 are the only Maxwell cards with h.265 hardware acceleration).
     
  24. mastermamo macrumors member

    mastermamo

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Location:
    Cape Town South Africa
    #24
    Well it depends on the camera I am using. My tools of choice are Arri Alexa, RED Dragon and Phantom a flex for high speed work. Rarely a DSLR like a 5D MKIII is used for a small cutaway

    Arri Alexa and SXT / Amira = ProRes or MXF/DNxHD
    Sometimes I shoot ARRIRAW but using an external XR Capture Drive

    RED : Redcode RAW (R3D)

    Canon : RAW

    Phantom 4K : Uncompressed RAW
    Then transfer data to a Cinemag IV for
    Prores 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 1080p or 4:4:4 UHD

    Playback is smooth enough in premiere to be workable with at half red but with CC2017 I generally transcode in at import time to plain 1080p which is manageable on a 5.1 Mac especially if I'm jumping between PP and AE using the dynamic link
     
  25. AndreeOnline, Jan 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017

    AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #25
    I meant the original poster, who is having playback problems. :)

    I can play a 520Mbit/s 4k DCI ProRes video back from a 2.5" spinning external USB3 hard drive using 8% of my CPU, 10% of my gfx memory and 15% of my GPU.

    But ProRes is a professional intermediate codec that's easy on the system. Many consumer/prosumer cameras (like drones) use what I'd call "delivery codecs" for recording, like flavors of h.264 and h.265. They are long GOP codecs that compress well, but they also demand much more of the computer when playing back, since the CPU will need to "reconstruct" image data on the fly, that's been abstracted into the codec algorithm.

    Both my Canon 1Dc and 1DxmkII record in .mjpeg. That codec is much tougher to get smooth playback from, depending on player/software—even if it's an intra frame codec.

    A 4k video file ≠ A 4k video file
     

Share This Page