Mac Pro 4,1 (Early 2009) mainboards compatibility for replacement

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ammoune78, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. ammoune78, Dec 5, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018

    ammoune78 macrumors newbie

    ammoune78

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a Mac Pro that actually have a faulty second logic Board that have a circuit that was pulled off by mistake, it's working but makes cpu board fans running at full speed. Now according to the original board of the Mac Pro, that came with parts number: *J595100UJBH7A* 939-0459 CHINA & *J595100KWCU7A* 631-1271 CHINA with CPU 2x 8Cores board part number *J594700SYBXZA* 939-0505 CHINA, what are the logic boards that can be purchased, without doing any CPU's fan noise and full spinning please. Also, are this one: *C07017702XADCVKA0* 631-1474 &. *C070177034VDD4GA2* 939-1062 compatible.
    Thanks
     
  2. mattferg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #2
    Where are you based? If the logic board is just missing a component/had it ripped off the board, Rossman Repair Group in NY can fix that 100%.
     
  3. ammoune78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ammoune78

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    #3
    Morocco, and unfortunately it will maybe cost me more than the price of a working used one.
    I just want the list of the compatible parts number with it or at least the EEE that i have to find.
     
  4. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #4
    I don't understand why the cost of global shipping has gotten so high.
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    With the LBSN/MLB label, the first alphanumerical is always the Logic Board Serial Number, and the second (numerical) is the Part Number.

    So, J595100UJBH7A, J595100KWCU7A, C07017702XADCVKA0, C070177034VDD4GA2 are the serial numbers for the backplanes. The part numbers are 939-0459, 631-1271, 939-0505, 631-1474, 939-1062.

    Btw, NEVER POST LBSN online, it's more important than the SSN for identifying a Mac.
     
  6. ammoune78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ammoune78

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    #6
    Thanks @tsialex , i've bought a board with 1LT EEE code, and 630-9399 parts number. This Mac Pro gives me a headache, yesterday it was booting, with no fan noise, and today, no cpu fans running, no startup chime, no video output, and from time to time at startup it continuously queer blinking white on the power led. Now no blinking but same thing, no startup chime, no video output and no cpu fans running.

    And I still can't find the exact screwing for that heatsinks!

    Crazy
     
  7. Macbookprodude macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #7
    Hello speaking of boards, is there a way to change the serial number from a 2009 to a 2010 ? Back in 2009-2010 I bought the backplane and processor boards for the 2010 and removed the 2009 boards.. If I want to run Mojave, will the serial cause it to not run ? Is there a way to change the serial ?
     
  8. tsialex, Dec 7, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    You can have a hardware problem or a BootROM problem. This is a new board or the one I already did the BootROM?
    --- Post Merged, Dec 7, 2018 ---
    Depends on how it was changed, if the person just dumped your 2009 BootROM and flashed the 2010 board, will be complicated to get it working since the LBSN_BD sector will be the 2009 one.

    No, Mojave don't check for the serial, just if its a supported Mac or not. Any Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to MP5,1 firmware with a supported Metal GPU can run Mojave.

    Like I said, depends.
     
  9. ammoune78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ammoune78

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    #9
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #10
    Ok, dump the BootROM immediately after you install the new one. Do not upgrade the firmware, this is important, people are bricking doing the initial firmware upgrades.

    You will need a disk with El Capitan to do it, Sierra on wards needs firmware upgrades.
     
  11. Macbookprodude macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #11
    Cool, thanks man.. Now I just need a metal video card. In Ukraine, these things are expensive.. What basic metal card can you recommend ?
     
  12. ammoune78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ammoune78

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    #12
    Ok, once the new board will be installed i‘ll install a fresh copy of El Capitan, then do a dump! Yes, i did mistake by directly flashing the firmware from Sierra, and from that moment, i remember that cpu fans came to spinning fully with noise.
     
  13. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #13
    If you need boot screens, the best bet is to find a PC GTX 680 and flash yourself, 5' job with Windows. Usually you only find high priced already flashed ones, but if you have patience, you will find a PC user selling one on the cheap.

    If you don't need boot screens, go for a RX-460/560, but keep an eye open for RX-580, from around 200 in October, you can get one on eBay for around $140.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 9, 2018 ---
    After you dumped, PM me it on the same PM thread, I'll check it and upgrade it for you.
     

Share This Page

12 December 5, 2018