Mac Pro 4,1 fans spinning all the time

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mlambertx86, May 13, 2019.

  1. Mlambertx86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
    #1
    Hey every one I recently bought a 2009 mac pro upgrades the firmware to 5,1 before switch to the new firmware this was still happening but all the fans are spinning constantly I checked that the connector on the heat sink in the CPU tray is engaged fully it is I did smc reset where u just unplug it idk what else it could be the machine is ducts free as I cleaned it when I recieved it any help would be great it runs great other wi and e just annoying cause it's loud
     
  2. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
    Check if the SMC firmware is the same for the backplane and CPU tray, go to SystemInformation>HardwareOverview.

    SMC Version (system) shows the version from the backplane and SMC Version (processor tray) the version from the CPU tray.

    A early-2009 Mac Pro should have:

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f05
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f05​

    A mid-2010/mid-2012 should have:

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11​

    If you have a mismatched SMC, your CPU tray and backplane will not talk to each other and the fans will be full RPM full time.

    SMC can't be updated or modified, so if you have a mismatched CPU tray and backplane combo, you will have to replace one or the other.
     
  3. Mlambertx86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
    #3
    Oh well im gonna have to check that out thanks for the info and what happens if they do match?
     
  4. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    SMC controller works and fans have correct automatic management if the SMC versions match.
     
  5. Mlambertx86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
    #5
    So you are more the positive its miss Match going on
    ??
     
  6. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    SMC versions HAVE to match. Mismatched SMC can't be overcome with management software.

    You can use a mismatched Mac Pro for tests, but no one tolerates the noise and the fans will have extremely high wear because they are being used in maximum RPM.
     
  7. Mlambertx86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
  8. Mlambertx86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
    #8
    Where would that number be on the tray??
     
  9. Flocarino macrumors regular

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #9
    Look on the top left corner, click on the Apple logo, then About This Mac, then Apple System Report....this is where you’ll see it. Very easy.
     
  10. Mlambertx86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Newburgh
    #10
    Got it yup tsialex you were right thanks for the help I just found the correct tray with CPU and some ram for 65 bucks
     

Share This Page

9 May 13, 2019