Mac Pro 4,1 Graphic card upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ralfi611, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. ralfi611 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #1
    Is it possible to use HD6950/ HD6970 as my display card in Mac Pro 4,1?
    I'd like to use them on Mac OS 10.7 & Windows 7 both.

    Thanks. :)
     
  2. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #2
    Why bovva?

    Several tech savvy Hackintoshers and masochists have been experimenting with those cards but if you follow their reports it is a big pain in the arse from start to finish. Better to use established and easier used cards than spend huge efforts for a crippled system.
    If you enjoy bashing your head against a wall then head over to Netkas.org and have a go with them: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php
     
  3. ralfi611 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for your recommend.
    So, I should use a HD5870? Any other choice?
     
  4. MaddieBrad macrumors regular

    MaddieBrad

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    Is it possible that there will be an official apple upgrade above the 5870 for GPU's soon?
     
  5. damir00 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    #5
    It seems a reasonable bet, given we appear to be within weeks of the next GPU generation (or at least parts of the next generation) launching.
     
  6. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #6
    I use a 6870 in my 4,1. No mess. Plugged it in and it works. I did flash it with netkas' method but it didn't change much other than I see a boot screen.
     
  7. ralfi611 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
  8. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    That would be worth it if you are booting into windows but you could use boot loader. Im thinking of getting rid of my 5770 and getting the 6870.
     

Share This Page