Mac Pro 4,1+ GTX980 SLI

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Game64, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. Game64 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    Fully understanding that a second 980SLI would require an extra PSU + And have no benefit whatsoever on graphics performance in OS X. Has anyone here ever ran a 980 SLI for Windows and Gaming?

    If so, What has your experience been?
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    SLI requires SLI certified motherboard.
    Years ago, the driver could be hacked to allow it to run on any motherboard, including the Mac Pro. See my topic here: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/sli-for-mac-pro-under-windows.974439/

    But afaik, that driver hack has not been possible since, so there is no way to run SLI on the Mac Pro today.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
  4. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #4
    SLI does not work the Mac Pro tower under OS X or Windows. But certain OS X pro apps will use dual CUDA capable NVIDIA GPUs (like the 980) without an SLI jumper: DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro X, After Effects, and Octane Render.

    Nor does AMD's CrossFire work under OS X. However, dual OpenCL capable AMD GPUs (like the 7950) are utilized by DaVinci Resolve and Final Cut Pro X.

    If you want to play games with Boot Camped Windows on the Mac, the 2013 Mac Pro's dual AMD FirePros are already physically CrossFired. If you have dual AMD GPUs on the 2008-2010 Mac Pro tower with CrossFire ports connected, that will also accelerate CrossFire aware games under Windows.
     

Share This Page