Mac Pro 4,1 issue

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by arbroathsmokie, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. arbroathsmokie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Darlington
    #1
    When I've tried to upgrade to either Mac OS 10.8.5 or to Mavericks, my Mac Pro freezes, sometimes instantly or after a while.

    I have a Mac Pro 4,1 which has been flashed to 5,1, with 32GB RAM, and I have a GTX 680 Mac edition and GT 120 installed also.

    I have tried with either just the GTX 680 or the GT 120 installed with the same results.

    This evening I realised I still had my old hardware test disc, the result was it found an error with the videocontroller. I repeated the test with both GTX, and GT installed and then with just one installed, with the same result.

    Am I right in thinking the fault is due to the logic board?
     
  2. ShiftClick macrumors regular

    ShiftClick

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Can't you just flash it back? Its been a few years but I remember I flashed mine forward to 5,1 but I kept having some issues with my avid software so I had to flash back and the issues went away. But the tool I used could do it both ways.
     
  3. arbroathsmokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Darlington
  4. arbroathsmokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Darlington
    #4
    Just downgraded the firmware back to 4,1, and have ran the basic hardware test with both cards installed and no errors found I'm about to run the extended test just to be sure.

    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

    Regards
     
  5. ShiftClick macrumors regular

    ShiftClick

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    No worries, just out of curiosity after you upgrade will you try and flash it back to 5,1?
     
  6. arbroathsmokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Darlington
    #6
    I've completed the extended test all passed. I don't know if I'll flash it again after updating the OS. I don't currently plan to upgrade the processors, I only flashed it up to 5,1 because I could.

    Again thanks for the heads up.
     
  7. arbroathsmokie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Location:
    Darlington
    #7
    Last update of my problem.

    Well I've had Mavericks running for almost 24 hours and no freezing, it looks like my mac didn't take to kindly having it's firmware updated to 5,1.

    Cheers
     
  8. superdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #8
    Did you flash it back to 5,1 after Mavericks was installed?

    I did the Mavericks on 4,1 then flashed to 5,1 after, I wasn't aware of the firmware hack.
     

Share This Page