Mac Pro 4,1 processor upgrade troubles

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CuamckuyKot, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. CuamckuyKot, Nov 21, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2014

    CuamckuyKot macrumors member

    CuamckuyKot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Russia, Saint-Petersburg
    #1
    Hi guys!

    I'm trying to swap processor on cMP4,1 and getting failure. Need your help.

    First of all, I'm doing all towards to the instructions.

    Using this one:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ng34AVZS8Aw

    But after I've reinstall Heatsinks on new X5650, I've got RED LED CPU B error.

    I've found out this video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAdgT-hJuXU

    The trouble is in HC power connector. So, I've get it out of the HC case and plug it right away before put HC down to processors board.

    Now it's fine – there are no LEDs inside. Only front LED flashing periocally.

    But… There is no Chime sound and Mac Pro doesn't start up.

    I've made firmware update 4,1 -> 5,1, of course. And put 2 x8Gb ram PC1333 in 1 and 5 slot (for both processors).

    Please, tell me:
    1. If processors or their connectors on the board are damaged – there should be any RED LED or indication?
    2. Did you have such a case when swapping your CPU?

    Need an advice, guys, please help.
     
  2. TruckdriverSean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #2
    Holy Cow. I was afraid you used that first video. I've seen it, and it should be removed from the Internet. It is complete rubbish. So many important steps left out it's scary.

    Future reference for anyone who finds this thread, do not use Knightmare's 2009 CPU install video.

    Hopefully someone with experience doing the install will chime in with the help you need op.
     
  3. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    If you remove CPU B, will the machine boot with just CPU A? (though fans will ramp up to max)

    If you pull off the cpu, I think you'll be able to easily see if you damaged the socket. My feeling is it'd be hard to damage the CPU without trashing the socket, so I wouldn't worry about it for now.

    If you don't want to pull off the heatsink, you could visually inspect the gap between the heatsink an the board. I think it should be ~2.7mm -- I had used ~2mm of washers and ended up with about a 0.5mm gap.

    I did have a problem where the connector didn't mesh originally, though can't remember if the system booted or not. I ended up doing something like the 2nd video suggested.

    In hindsight, the whole process was a lot more pain than it was worth. The 5,1 or single-socket is the way to go...
     
  4. GameFreak348 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #4

Share This Page