Mac Pro 4,1 sleep problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by toontra, Jul 27, 2017.

  1. toontra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    I have the most annoying problem with my 8-core 2009 Mac Pro running OS 10.9.5. About 50% of the time it refuses to sleep - it goes through the pre-sleep cycle and just as it should sleep the fans boost and it restarts.


    There doesn't appear to be any pattern to when this happens - i.e. how long it's been running, what apps are open or have been used, what network activity is going on, etc.


    I've tried all the tips picked up on the net to search for the process that's keeping it awake (terminal searches) but no luck.


    It's affecting my work. I use it for music production and need to be able to use it when inspiration strikes but really don't want to keep it running 24/7. Any suggestions really gratefully received.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Are you forced to stay at 10.9.5 due to software compatibility?
     
  3. toontra thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    For the time being yes. Do you think updating the OS may help?
     
  4. mattspace macrumors 6502a

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    checked there isn't anything spooled up in your printer queue, to a printer that's off or no longer connected?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    In my personal experience, sleeping was quite buggy after 10.6.8. Until Sierra, it suddenly become flawless again. YMMV, but worth to consider. And if you want to try Sierra, the easiest way to do it is flash your 4,1 to 5,1. Then you can install Sierra (or even High Sierra later) natively.

    However, depends on your wi-fi card (if you have one), it may not be supported.
     
  6. toontra thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    Yes, I'm contemplating the firmware hack to 5,1 but am waiting to find an original graphics card for a reasonable price. No wifi card to worry about.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 27, 2017 ---
    Nothing in the printer queue.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Your are now running a non flashable PC GPU?
     
  8. toontra thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    I've upgraded the graphics cards over the years which is what's stopping the firmware flash working, apparently, so I've got a search on ebay for an NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 or ATI Radeon HD 4870.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    If you can get a cheap HD7950 or GTX 680, they also can be flashed to allow the firmware upgrade.

    Or if you have any friend that has a Mac EFI GPU, borrow it for just firmware flashing may be another option.
     
  10. toontra thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    Don't know anyone with a Mac EFI GPU unfortunately.

    I was thinking if I get a Mac card then I can hopefully sell it on for more or less what I pay for it after flashing.
     
  11. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #11
    I have a 4,1 and 10.9.5 as well and sleep has always been flawless with me with three exceptions: USB 3 cards, Logitech Control Center settings, and the Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard settings. All three of those would give me constant sleep issues so I removed them and no longer have any issues.
    I'm running an unflashed web driver EVGA GTX 680 2GB and haven't had any issues at all there, maybe try that.
     
  12. toontra thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    Thanks. I do have a USB 3 card (no Logitech Control Center or Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard settings) so might try removing that.
     
  13. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #13
    Usb 3 can work in Mavericks alright, but most of the cheap cards found in electronics stores run off of generic chipsets. The ASM1142 cards seem to be the worst in terms of sleep.
     

Share This Page