Mac Pro 5,1 12-core - 256GB RAM possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I would like to know if in future it will be possible to upgrade this model to 256GB RAM ?

    The CPU's itself supports up to 288 GB so I would say yes, but will the board support so much RAM ?
     
  2. bxs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Not an answer, but 256GB = 8 x 32GB modules. This is likely going to be expensive and would be in the region of $4,000.

    OWC sells a 128GB kit for MP5,1 at this time for $1,600.

    You must also run at least 10.9 Mavericks.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
  4. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Not really, the W3690 only support 24G RAM officially, but end up it can boot with 56G RAM. The X5690 officially support up to 288G, that mean the CPU itself may able to boot with much more than that.
     
  5. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #5
    This topic has already been discussed here.
     
  6. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #6
    My understanding is OSX has a limit of 96GB - so unless you're running linux or windows, that wil llimit you before the hardware.

    Can't remember where I read that, so its possible its not accurate, but worth finding out before you blow that kind of $$$
     
  7. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    Interesting - so they fixed it in 10.9. Wonder if it goes all the way to 288GB that the processor supports
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^No, 64GB per CPU. 128GB Total, using 8 16GB RAM DIMMs.

    Lou
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    That's the current OSX, but future will only be limited by hardware.
     
  10. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    Prices will go down in future and OS X will support 256 GB for sure ;) Even old Windows 7 Pro/Ultimate supports 192 GB RAM out of the box.
     
  11. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #12
    Sure, but they make linux/windows servers with >= 48 DIMM slots, so its not hard to load up on ram. Certainly not cheap though - I think my companies big-memory servers were >$50k ea.
     
  12. flowrider, Jul 7, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    Don't think so. With the cMP havhing Eight RAM slots and the nMP having only Four, IMHO, it's in Apple's interest to not let the cMP overtake the nMP in the amount of RAM it will hold. Thus there will be a software limitation.

    Lou
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    May be you are right. However, OP is talking about Possible to use 256G RAM in cMP in future.

    Hardware wise, it's quite possible at this moment.:)
     
  14. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15
    What Good is it if it's not recognized?

    Lou
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #16
    Has Apple published anything on Yosemite's ability to use more than 128 gb of RAM? Or is this limitation a hardware limitation with the logic board of the Mac Pro? I'm at 128 GB now and everything runs fine, but for some work 128gb isn't enough.
     
  16. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    Any news in Yosemite final version ?

    That would be kickass machines if they would support 256 GB RAM :D
     

Share This Page