Mac Pro 5.1 2010 High Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mac4you, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. Mac4you macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #1
    Hi,

    Is it safe to install High Sierra on Mac Pro 5.1 2010 with Velocity Solo 2x (PCEi slot) Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB?
    Above boot with Sierra atm.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    What do you mean by "safe"?

    It can run. But is it bugs free, obviously not. For SSD, HS will automatically convert the HFS+ partition into APFS partition. This new file system still quite buggy, e.g. possible slow boot if TRIM enabled. Or finder micro freeze, etc.

    Is it usable? Yes

    Is it better than 10.12.6? IMO, no.
     
  3. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #3
    I agree with h9826790. I installed 10.13.0 on my flashed 2009/10 MP, with SSD. This isn't my primary system, and it seemed to work fine for the few things that I tried, but a few things didn't work (cTivo, Amphetamine). But from what I've seen and experienced so far, there can be very disruptive issues in some use cases. If you have Adobe CC, give a look on their forums, for example. Do specific research into the apps (and GPUs) that you use.
     
  4. Mac4you thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #4
    Thanks both!
    I shall do more research regarding, apps in use.
    Cheers
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Is it safe. Sure. I'm running it as my primary OS on an SM951. No issues for me.

    Lou
     
  6. Mac4you thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #6
    Thank you for your response as well.
     
  7. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #7
    One more thing - best to make a complete backup before updating. Time Machine, CCC, whatever works for you. That way if you stumble on something, it's easy enough to revert back.
     
  8. Mac4you thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #8
    SuperDuper! is my friend regarding above.
    Thanks
     
  9. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    I also have to say that 10.13.1 is running great on my 5,1 mac pro with ssd.
    No problems at all, very satisfied with it so far.

    I have it on a flashed 4,1 as well, and no problems there, after flashing it to 5,1 it was then flashed with the new 2017 firmware as part of the 10.13.1 installer.
     
  10. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #10

    Same here. I'm now running HS 10.13.1 on a SM951 as my main OS on my mid-2010 cMP. No Issues Here. In fact I'm loving it. GO FOR IT....
     
  11. HighMacGuy macrumors newbie

    HighMacGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #11
    I'm on a MacPro5,1 (single processor) Samsung EVO ssd and I'm running 10.13.1 is my primary OS.

    Night-shift isn't officially supported on the 5,1, so if you want it you should go to Pike's Universum.

    Likewise, continuity isn't officially supported either; even with capable hardware. The only thing I had to do to enable it on mine was to whitelist the board-id by following the instructions at iDelta's Lair (2nd half of the post).
     
  12. Mac4you thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #12
    Installed now above and with no problems here to, Thanks.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 22, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the tip ;).
     
  13. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #13
    Good tips. There are quick installers available for both, for those who are interested:

    NightPatch:
    https://github.com/pookjw/NightPatch

    CAT:
    https://github.com/dokterdok/Continuity-Activation-Tool
     
  14. HighMacGuy macrumors newbie

    HighMacGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #14
  15. Jamoir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    #15
    --- Post Merged, Nov 22, 2017 ---
    I hope this is an appropriate question here. I have a mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1 with Samsung 850 SSD, WD spinning drives, Snow Leopard and El Capitan on different partitions in order to keep using Creative Suite 5.5, Quark 2017, and some costly peripherals. My tax software will not run on El Capitan, so I need to update El Capitan. Problem is Apple will only let me go to High Sierra, which seems to require a firmware update that will prevent me from running Snow Leopard, and I do not know if CS will run on High Sierra. (It runs fine on El Capitan with deprecated version of Java.) Does anyone have any advice for me?
     
  16. HighMacGuy macrumors newbie

    HighMacGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #16
    I believe the firmware update just adds APFS support; what makes you think it will prevent Snow Leopard from running?
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    The firmware upgrade won’t prevent you to boot from 10.6.8, where you get this info?
     
  18. Jamoir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    #18
    It's just the accumulated detritus in my mind after making Mac upgrades beginning with my first Mac IIx a few lifetimes ago coupled with Apple Website's pointed admonition that it would be impossible to restore the previous firmware after updating to High Sierra.

    Another factor is Creative Suite, really just the Photoshop component. I have no idea how a firmware change might effect that. After paying full freight for every edition of Creative Suite (and Photoshop since Adobe trashed Color Studio), I would sooner close my shop than rent essential tools of my trade.

    Is the consensus here that I should (no promises made or heard) be able to update to High Sierra without losing the functionality of my legacy apps when booting from Snow Leopard or El Capitan?
     
  19. MSastre macrumors 6502a

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #19
    The firmware update is preventing others from booting from drives with a previous OS on them. There is a thread on the FCP X forum about it. Wanted to try installing it on a drive for a test, but glad I waited because some of the Pro Apps I use are not yet optimized for it. I will update my rMBP, but not my 5,1. I'm still using some legacy apps.
     
  20. Jamoir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    #20
    If your word of cautionary experience is that the earlier systems may not even boot, then I need to know if anyone is using Photoshop (CS 5.5) without serious hiccups on a mid-2010 Mac Pro running High Sierra...

    Or, is there a way to install High Sierra and then fully revert to Snow Leopard or El Capitan?
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    I read that link, and I am 100% sure that guy don't know what's happening. The software may not work properly, but the firmware upgrade didn't prevent a Mac Pro 5,1 to boot from 10.6.4 or later. His backup drive doesn't work is NOT equals to (or imply) the new firmware can't boot older OSX.

    If he pull out the original Mac Pro 5,1 recovery disk. The Mac Pro 5,1 can (and will) boot from it. Allow him to install Snow Leopard, and let him upgrade to any later OS.

    Even if he doesn't have the DVD. Just create a Sierra installation USB boot drive (or burn a disk) will also allow him to install Sierra on any hard drive. Running an older MacOS installer inside a newer MacOS of course won't work.

    P.S. Hard fact, I did the firmware upgrade BEFORE High Sierra offical launch, and I did boot Sierra from it many times (many of us did that).
    --- Post Merged, Nov 23, 2017 ---
    Firmware cannot roll back (without any hack) is correct. But that's totally independent to prevent boot from older OSX.

    What I suggest you to do is install High Sierra to another separate hard drive, do NOT mix it with any other OS. The firmware upgrade won't prevent you to boot from Snow Leopard or El Capitan. But a corrupted drive, damaged partition table etc can.

    And the firmware won't affect your legacy apps. The OS can, but not the firmware.
     
  22. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #22
    I have seven SSDs and two HDDs. Two of my SSDs contain Sierra (10.12.6) I can boot into Sierra just fine with the updated firmware installed on my 5,1 cMP. In fact I updated my firmware before the final release of High Sierra, running Sierra without issue.

    Lou
     
  23. MSastre macrumors 6502a

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #23
    That is good to know
    That's good to know. Maybe the poster in that thread may have had other problems, but he seemed adamant. I did not know there was a firmware update for the 5,1 cMP separate from the HS upgrade. Do you have a link?
     
  24. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #24
    ^^^^It's part of the HS Update. When you start the update, the firmware shows first, follow the prompts, than when the HS update itself comes up, if you don't want to load it, you quit.

    Lou
     
  25. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #25
    Now if you download High Sierra from app store it will be only few MBs file, just firmware update. After successfully applying update you'll have option to download full installer.
     

Share This Page

32 November 21, 2017