Mac Pro 5 1 3.06 12 Core Amber 5v STBY

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by clipsedsm95, Apr 30, 2016.

  1. clipsedsm95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I need major help guys!. I recently sold my AMD 7950. I left the computer unplugged from power all week until I came back home from work on the weekend. My new GTX 970 Came in the mail. I plugged it in and booted up my Mac Pro. I get boot chime sound everything is working just fine. I can even log in. But there is no screen! everything is black. I tried all ports on card. and yes both 6 pin power plugs are connected. I sent it back hopping it was the card and I picked up a R9 280X on ebay but I have to wait for in the mail. As a photographer I need my computer now so while I wait i decided to pick up a R7 360 for now and noticed that does not work either. Now i Am not sure if theirs is something wrong wit my mac pro! I pressed the Diagnostics button and I get amber 5V STBY light on and a few other green lights. does anybody have any suggestions of what could be going on!!!
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2016 ---
    I have tried to both Reset SMC and take 3V battery out and nothing !!
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    All Maxwell card (including 970) will only gives you black screen until you install and activate the Nvidia Web driver on Yosemite of after. You should know that before you randomly install a PC GPU on a Mac.

    And R7 360 is exactly another card that won't work OOTB.

    Good news is that most likely you Mac is good. And the bad news is that your Mac won't work until you have the correct GPU installed (another good news, 280X should work OOTB).
     
  3. clipsedsm95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #3

    I have the latest install of El Capitan with the nvidia drivers installed before I pulled my AMD card.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I assume you mean installed AND selected the correct version of Nvidia web driver. Also, without reset PRAM etc which will affect the driver selection.

    Anyway, it's too late to diagnosis now if you already return the card.

    A little suggestion is that you better setup a remote control client next time. So, when there is nothing display, you can still use remote control to check, install, select the web driver.
     
  5. clipsedsm95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York

Share This Page