Mac Pro 5.1 8 core with x2 5870 ! trick!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by redarc, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. redarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #1
    Guys , i was reading about put x2 5870 and all the instruction for do it with 5,25 power supply , but i type it on youtube and there is 1 guy that is using x 2 5870 with no power supply , just with splitters i think... you think is possible??? i see he is using 3 monitors with no problem , i have the 2010 model with 2,4 ghz... do i have the power for do it myself?

    here is the link!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMiAgsr8m9M

    can you also tell me.. where to buy that splitters , thank you!
     
  2. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2

    Uh, god, I wouldn't do that.

    You don't know what the load limits for the mobo traces are.

    Risky tbqfh.
     
  3. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I talked with this guy a few months ago and he has had no trouble with it. Been running for over a year like that. He bought them on new egg.
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    you can.

    you can jump out an airplane without a chute.

    doesn't make it a good idea.
     
  5. redarc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #5
    !!

    Cindori so there is no chance? Also using 2.4 Ghz that got just 80 watt tdp?? I find hard do it with extra psu..my knowledge of mechanic its quite bad!!
     
  6. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    What about on a dual processor motherboard, using splitters to power a 5870 and a 5770? How much safer would that be?
     
  7. jchall30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #7
    Seems like if it has worked for over a year that is a pretty good stress test.
     
  8. redarc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    #8
    Hi all again , after many research i take up and decision to put an external psu and bring inside the pci-e spot the x2 6 pin connector inside the mac pro , what i would ask now if every psu would work for give just the power to the second ati 5870 in this case i look at this

    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-430-Watt-Certified-Compatible-Platforms/dp/B004W2T2TM/ref=lh_ni_t

    so if i buy x 2 6 pin connector do i have just to put them in the psu then in the mac pro just powering up the psu ? or there would be any issue about compatibility?

    thank you as always for all the info.
     
  9. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #9
    You get in a car and there is a chance you may die. Its just a computer, not a life. I say do it.
     
  10. MatthewAMEL macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #10
    If you can split the 'power on' lead from the MB to your two supplies, I see no reason it wouldn't work.

    Use the original PSU for the stock innards and the added PSU for the video cards.

    I'd love to hear how it works. Can't imagine it wouldn't.
     
  11. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    yeah well it's fun when you are forced to buy a new $600 logic board because you wanted to save $30 on a cable/PSU



    been there done that.
     
  12. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #12
    :rolleyes:

    And then claim to Apple it "just went wrong, honest guv' ".

    It's risky, even if the cards run absolutely fine for a year or more. Who is to say someone tries it and runs Furmark and it goes tits up?

    The OP has chosen the safer route, so no matter anyway!
     
  13. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13
    If you have apple care I don't think you need to worry about blowing it.

    What if you are only putting most of the load on 1 card and running a second display off the other.
     
  14. jchall30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #14
    That's what I am wanting to do BigJohno. I may try it but with a 5870 and a 5770.
     
  15. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    I wouldn't let the life of my computer hang on how much processing power is used...


    also, broken logic board with apple care = send whole computer for repair, expect return in 2-4 weeks.
     
  16. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #16
    No question there is risk involved. To put a broken computer in the same realm as human death is not right. If you feel risky or don't care split it off the main board and let us know how it goes. If you feel less risky, get a power supply.

    Me personally, I don't do either. One card requires no mainboard power and the other uses both mainboard power.

    I doubt very much that the mainboard power traces can't handle the current of two cards.
     
  17. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    How would a 5870 and a 5770 run on a DP MP without a second power supply?
     

Share This Page