Mac Pro 5.1 after cpu upgrade still 1066 ram

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by carpsafari, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #1
    I just switched the CPU on my Quad and now have a X5680, all fine except my ram still shows as 1066!?

    Read that it happens more, but no reason why?

    The Ram I have installed, are 3x 16Gb Kingston KTD-PE313Q8LVK3/48G

    Anybody?

    Schermafbeelding 2015-10-20 om 20.42.51.png
     
  2. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #3
    Of course I did that, sorry for not reporting!
     
  3. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #4
    I can reset VRAM with a PC card? Mine isn't flashed!
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    I'm not convinced you've successfully reset the NVRAM. Did you hear a second boot chime?

    To be sure, (assuming you are using Mavericks or newer), run terminal and type in the following command:

    sudo nvram -c
     
  5. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #6
    Yes, I did hear the boot chime.

    Tried it a second time, no go.

    Also just tried your sudo command en restarted,...but no go. Really bizar.

    It has nothing to do with my PC card? As I found out during the firmware upgrade??
     
  6. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #7
    This is normal?

    nvram: (usage: no such option as -?)
    nvram [-x] [-p] [-f filename] [-d name] [-c] name[=value] ...
    -x use XML format for printing or reading variables
    (must appear before -p or -f)
    -p print all firmware variables
    -f set firmware variables from a text file
    -d delete the named variable
    -c delete all variables
    name=value set named variable
    name print variable
    Note that arguments and options are executed in order.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Just to be clear, you heard the second boot chime? If you reset the NVRAM using the keyboard command at bootup, you should hear at least two boot chimes--the initial boot chime and the second one that occurs after resetting NVRAM.

    I'm not sure what you are asking me. That appears to be the nvram command's man pages.
     
  8. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #9
    Yes, I did hear the second chime, when booting too!



    [/QUOTE]
    I'm not sure what you are asking me. That appears to be the nvram command's man pages.[/QUOTE]

    I executed your 'sudo nvram -c' and the text above returned.
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    If you heard the second chime, then you did clear the NVRAM successfully. Clearing the VMRAM is almost always the fix.

    You might be able to force the MP to refresh its RAM setup by pulling a stick or two and booting up. Check the speed at that point.

    However, this might all be for nothing. I looked up your RAM and it's quad ranked. I don't know much about quad ranked, but everything I've ever read about it says that it's slower than dual ranked RAM and can lower the clock speed. The RAM itself might be your problem. IMHO you shouldn't buy quad-ranked RAM except for scenarios where your memory capacity needs are so high that only quad ranked sticks are available.
     
  10. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #11
    Quad ranked, dual ranked,...all new to me.

    I'll try different RAM modules, thanks for clearing this up!
     
  11. smallvillee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #12
    I have the same bizar problem here. And i checked that my ram is dual ranked.... Replaced CPU to X5680 (hexacore 3.33 ) and put 4x8 GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10600) in it. After trying pram reset it still runs at 1066. After rebooting with only on dimm in slot 1 and the other in slot 5 it still stays at 1066... Now someone sayed it could be because i need 6 Dimms in slots 1-3 and 5-7 because its a hexacore cpu and it needs to address the memory that way... But i doubt it will solve the problem. Any helpt highly appreciated! THX guys.

    Its the ram with the serial: TS1GKR72V3N
    http://nl.transcend-info.com/Products/No-464
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #13
    You have the luxury of trying 1 stick at a time.

    1333 doesn't require anything other that RAM that supports it.
     
  13. h9826790, Feb 12, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    I am running 4x8G RAM, 1066MHz. But if I remove the 4th stick, the RAM will run at 1333MHz. So, different RAM config (with the same sticks) can make the difference.

    Anyway, apart from running benchmark, there is only very few users will really affected by that 2.8% (max) speed difference.

    The RAM either run at 1333CL9 or 1066CL7. So, the speed difference is much less than just compare 1333 to 1066.
     
  14. smallvillee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #15
    ill try one by one etc...
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    With 1 dimm on slot 1 still 1066.... ill try pram reset now in this config
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    after pram reset with only 1 dimm on slot 1 still 1066...
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    1 dimm on slot 1 = 1066
    2 dimms on slots 1+2 = 1066
    3 dimms on 1-3 = 1066
    4 dimms on 1-4 = 800
    4 dimms on 1+2 and 5+6 = 1066
    4 dimms on 3+4 and 7+8 0 800

    ....
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2016 ---
    Ive checked every dimm in slot 1 and still 1066
     
  15. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #16
    I told you that despite Transcends claim, I don't believe its dual ranked.
    Try a different brand.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    TS1GKR72V3N 8GB DDR3 1333 REG DIMM 9-9-9 4 Rank

    Isn't it mean that the RAM sticks are quad rank?
     
  17. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #18
    He called Transcend to check (I gave him the tip) and they claim it is dual ranked, but after all he tried I think it is not!
     
  18. smallvillee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    #19
    After driving 80 km one way to the shop they send me home without having even a look... they sayed i bought the wrong ram and thats my fault and its not their problem... i dont want to dump 270€ again right now only to get 1333 ram... what a bad experience.... And yes the guy from transcend said to me that it is dual ranked.... but since this hole mess is not making any sense i indeed think its quad... i could go and claim responsibility cause they called it "kompatible for upgrade mac pro workstation system" That was the reason i bought it in first place cause i taught it would be save.... really dont know what to do now...
     
  19. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #20
  20. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #21
  21. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #22
  22. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #23
    I think Apple doesn't even charge €270 for 4x8Gb.
     
  23. carpsafari thread starter Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #25

Share This Page