Mac Pro 5.1 Booting and then nothing.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GameFreak348, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. GameFreak348 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #1
    Hello,


    My Mac Pro 5.1 was laying around since like 7 months, today I decided to turn it on. It has no hard drives in it or anything, keyboard and mouse dont work but it always boots, the problem is it boots into Bootcamp even tho I have no harddrive or anything, and I cant do anything. I cant even pram reset it since keyboard doesnt work, I tried many things.


    Got any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I am not sure if the reset button (next to the battery on the mobo) will help. By considering your Mac don't have HDD, or keyboard, and just laying around, why not give it a try?
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    Nothing appears to be wrong. This is what happens if you have no bootable drives connected.

    Are you asking for suggestions for what you need to do to make use of the computer?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    No, that is not what happens when no bootable drives are connected////
    Your MacPro will bring up the flashing folder/? .
    The screen that you show is one that is expecting to boot to Windows.
    Reset PRAM - if you have a wireless keyboard that is not, then you need to try a wired USB keyboard. If you don't have a USB keyboard, borrow one.

    I'm guessing that your GTX 770 will not boot into the Option-boot screen.
    That's one of the reasons that you would keep the original graphics card - Swap the GTX 770 for the original graphics card. it will help you get your MacPro going again.

    If you don't have any drives installed now - what do you want to do with your MacPro?
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    Oh, my mistake then. It's what happens on my computer when no drives are connected, but one of my normal drives is a Windows drive.
     
  6. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #6
    Im using the apple GT 120, HDD are connected but it wont let me do anything, keyboard and mouse are not working but connected.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Is that the Apple mouse / keyboard? Is it the wired one?

    HDD connected means the OSX one? Or the Windows one? If the Windows HDD still there, plug that back in and boot to desktop, then you can use bootcamp apps in Windows to assign the boot disk back to OSX HDD.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Do an SMC reset.
    Disconnect all external cables (including ethernet, displays, and external switches or hubs, and especially the power cable.
    Wait a few minutes. I think Apple tells you that 15 seconds is fine, but I usually just unplug, then take a coffee break.
    10 minutes with nothing connected should be enough.
    Plug power, USB keyboard/mouse, and display back in place. Make sure the display is plugged in to your GT120 card, and may be best if that is the only card installed.
    Press and release the power button, and immediately press and hold Command-Option-P and R.
    You should hear the boot chime sound.
    Keep holding the same 4 keys until you hear the boot chime 2 more times. If you don't hear the boot chime, just keep holding the same 4 keys for about 1 minute.
    If you don't have ANY boot drive installed, then it's really just the reset that you need, so press and hold the power button until your MacPro shuts off.
    Now, try to Option-boot to some OS X system. A USB OS X installer would be fine. Should work this time.
     
  9. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
  10. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #10
    Do you have an old OS X Installer DVD or USB stick? Insert it before you start the Mac Pro and look what happens.
     
  11. GameFreak348 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #11
    fixed by just letting it stand there for 2 days lmao
     

Share This Page