Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Vecchiarelli

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2018
16
7
Hello. I will soon be upgrading my Mac Pro 5,1 from the stock Radeon HD 5770 to an NVIDIA Quadro P4000 running the web drivers for Mac OS. I have the 16x PCIe slot above the Radeon HD 5770 free and the Quadro P4000 is a single slot card with fairly low power consumption considering its capabilities. Is it possible to run the stock Radeon card and the NVIDIA card simultaneously so I can have a boot screen from the stock Radeon card and the additional power of the NVIDIA card?

Thank you for your input!
 

Vecchiarelli

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2018
16
7
Bump!

If anyone is running any NVIDIA card with any AMD card in a 5,1 Mac Pro successfully that would also be useful to know.

Thanks!
 

startergo

macrumors 601
Sep 20, 2018
4,218
1,903
Bump!

If anyone is running any NVIDIA card with any AMD card in a 5,1 Mac Pro successfully that would also be useful to know.

Thanks!

I am running GT-120 and RX-580. In windows you have to select basic video driver for the GT-120 and restrict the driver update via group policy. In OSX they run fine. GT-120 is an official EFI mac card with boot screen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790

Vecchiarelli

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2018
16
7
I am running GT-120 and RX-580. In windows you have to select basic video driver for the GT-120 and restrict the driver update via group policy. In OSX they run fine. GT-120 is an official EFI mac card with boot screen.

The NVIDIA Quadro P4000 isn't a Mac native card so I'll be running the web drivers for it whereas the Radeon HD 5770 is native. It wouldn't be the end of the world to have to switch cards when I need a boot screen but having the ability to run 2 additional monitors over the 4 I'll be running with the Quadro P4000 is very tempting since I could then have duplicates of some of my main screens at the second location in my studio which would be very useful.
 

bjar

macrumors regular
Feb 20, 2013
232
103
Sugar land, tx
I am running GT-120 and RX-580. In windows you have to select basic video driver for the GT-120 and restrict the driver update via group policy. In OSX they run fine. GT-120 is an official EFI mac card with boot screen.
Are you running Mojave? Wondering how the gt120 behaves in mojave. Thanks.
 

Ludacrisvp

macrumors 6502a
May 14, 2008
786
356
GT120 doesn't have Metal support so it likely doesn't work well at all using software rendering, so the card will also likely be running hot, especially if there aren't drivers loaded for it then it will be unable to dynamically lower clock rate based on usage.

While I don't have a 5,1 i don't believe your question is that hardware dependent.

I ran HD5770(flashed-PC) + 8800GT(Apple) together for a long time with no issues ever.
I then ran HD5770(flashed-PC) + GTX650(PC) together for a short time with no issues.
HD5770 was then moved to a hack and paired with a HD5450 to run 5 displays, and GTX650+8800GT was run together until I was able to flash the GTX650 with EFI ROM, not long after the 8800GT was retired to a shelf / box.
 
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790

Vecchiarelli

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2018
16
7
I did. I had the original radeon 5770 alongside with the quadro 4000 for mac. Never had any issue.

That Quadro 4000 is native for Mac. I'll be running the newer Quadro P4000 which is a PC card with the Mac web drivers which is why I'm unsure if I'll have any problems or not. I could have sworn that I saw somewhere that it's not possible to run an NVIDIA PC specific card with the web drivers and a Mac native card simultaneously but maybe that's not the case. It's sounding like it should be all good and pretty much answers my questions.

Thanks everyone!
 

Badr26

macrumors newbie
Jan 16, 2022
4
1
I did. I had the original radeon 5770 alongside with the quadro 4000 for mac. Never had any issue.
Hello, I have the same graphics that you have. If I want to use them both just connect each one directly to the motherboard or connect them together by one cable to the motherboard.
 

Manzanito

macrumors 6502a
Apr 9, 2010
908
1,403
Hello, I have the same graphics that you have. If I want to use them both just connect each one directly to the motherboard or connect them together by one cable to the motherboard.
Each one to the motherboard and a mini 6 pin to 6 pin pci cable for each card to connect to the motherboard, like this one:


That said, I don’t know if there’s anything to be gained from having both cards connected simultaneously, IIRC back in the day some apps used one card to display the interface and the other one to make calculations. It might be a good idea to find out if the apps you’ll use can benefit from having two different cards available, otherwise just stick to a single card. Good luck!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Badr26

Badr26

macrumors newbie
Jan 16, 2022
4
1
Each one to the motherboard and a mini 6 pin to 6 pin pci cable for each card to connect to the motherboard, like this one:


That said, I don’t know if there’s anything to be gained from having both cards connected simultaneously, IIRC back in the day some apps used one card to display the interface and the other one to make calculations. It might be a good idea to find out if the apps you’ll use can benefit from having two different cards available, otherwise just stick to a single card. Good luck!
Thank you for your answer and explanation. Thnaks for the link too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Manzanito

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,456
11,915
Hello, I have the same graphics that you have. If I want to use them both just connect each one directly to the motherboard or connect them together by one cable to the motherboard.
Do you know that dissimilar GPUs only work up to High Sierra? From Mojave on, initially seems to work fine, then you start to get weird app crashes, sleep stops working correctly and the KPs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Badr26

Badr26

macrumors newbie
Jan 16, 2022
4
1
Do you know that dissimilar GPUs only work up to High Sierra? From Mojave on, initially seems to work fine, then you start to get weird app crashes, sleep stops working correctly and the KPs.
Thank you for this information, after I installed Mojave, there were several problems with the computer, I thought I made some mistakes when I installed it so I went back to High Sierra but now it's clear, thanks again.
 

tsialex

macrumors G4
Jun 13, 2016
11,456
11,915
Thank you for this information, after I installed Mojave, there were several problems with the computer, I thought I made some mistakes when I installed it so I went back to High Sierra but now it's clear, thanks again.
This is one of the things that some people write that "works fine" for him, you think that maybe it will also gonna work for you and then when you test, all sort of weird and inexplicable crashes start to happen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Badr26

Badr26

macrumors newbie
Jan 16, 2022
4
1
This is one of the things that some people write that "works fine" for him, you think that maybe it will also gonna work for you and then when you test, all sort of weird and inexplicable crashes start to happen.
That's what I read on the internet before I installed it but after I installed it I found that Mojave does not work on my computer with a graphic card that I have so I went back to High Sierra.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.