MP 1,1-5,1 Mac Pro 5,1 GTX 980Ti no signal

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
Recently tried to install a GTX 980Ti in my 5,1 MP, but not getting any signal.
I ordered a GT120 off eBay so I could install the needed drivers for the 980.
Is there anything I can do in the meantime?
Is there a chance it is not a drivers issue?
Thanks in advance!
 

Freakshow69

macrumors newbie
Aug 22, 2016
6
0
Recently tried to install a GTX 980Ti in my 5,1 MP, but not getting any signal.
I ordered a GT120 off eBay so I could install the needed drivers for the 980.
Is there anything I can do in the meantime?
Is there a chance it is not a drivers issue?
Thanks in advance!
You need to install the correct drivers in order for it to work. Check your security. update to get the correct driver
 

reader50

macrumors member
Apr 9, 2003
34
18
California
macOS does not supply nVidia drivers after the 700 series. You have to manually install their web drivers for 900- and 1000-series cards. They have not released Mac driver support for 1600- or 2000-series cards yet.

MacVidCards maintains a list of nVidia driver downloads. They also have a FAQ section that you're likely to need.

Note that there are no Mojave drivers for the later nVidia cards. Your 980 Ti will only work up through High Sierra. Apple and nVidia have been feuding for the last few years. Neither has stated what it's about. But it means we haven't been getting the drivers built into macOS.
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
12,801
5,622
Hong Kong
Recently tried to install a GTX 980Ti in my 5,1 MP, but not getting any signal.
I ordered a GT120 off eBay so I could install the needed drivers for the 980.
Is there anything I can do in the meantime?
Is there a chance it is not a drivers issue?
Thanks in advance!
Where is your "original" GPU? (the one that before you install the 980Ti.

There is no need to get a GT120. Just swap your original GPU back in, install the web driver, reboot. Verify the Nvidia web driver is correctly activated. Then you can remove the original GPU, and install the 980Ti.

And if you have remote control setup, you can actually simply install web driver via remote control, no need to swap GPU.

Anyway, I assume you are running an OS that has 980Ti web driver support.
 

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
Regarding the gpu I had before the 980 - it doesn't work.
You said that there are no built in drivers for 700 series + but I tried using a GTX 680 to install the drivers and haven't gotten any signal with it.
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
12,801
5,622
Hong Kong
Regarding the gpu I had before the 980 - it doesn't work.
You said that there are no built in drivers for 700 series + but I tried using a GTX 680 to install the drivers and haven't gotten any signal with it.
I am confused. The GPU you have before 980Ti doesn't work? You mean it's broken, so that you buy a 980Ti?
 

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
I have a 980Ti and a 680, the original gpu that came with the MP is broken
 

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
I know for a fact the 680 does work, but for some reason when I put it in the MP I can't get a signal
 

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
update: after booting with the 680 and waiting a couple minutes the screen appears static and doesn't change
 

Attachments

biscuit1280

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2019
8
2
update: the problem has been resolved by pressing CMD+R at startup and waiting a couple minutes for the drivers to load
 
  • Like
Reactions: h9826790