Mac pro 5.1 memory upgrade issue

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nick209, Feb 28, 2018.

  1. nick209 macrumors newbie

    nick209

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #1
    I will replace my cup from E5620 to X5690 next few days. I have brought 4gb x 4 ram recently and find out some issue when I put it with my previous upgrade 4g ram.. the power will keep flash and can not open the system.

    Issue:
    Can not install 8 x 4g ram. If I only put the new ram on slot 1-4 only and the system still work.

    Here is my previous ram brought from dealer.
    4g x 4 with original 1g x 4 , total 20g. *4g 2R x8 DDR3 1066ECC

    New purchase
    4g 2Rx4 PC3-10600R

    Is anyone can give me the good advise for which way I need to do. such as change all the memory to new 4g 2Rx4 PC3-10600R ? or stay with original 1066 4g ram. Which is better for X5690? thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bernuli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #2
  3. hnr2802 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #3
    If I'm not mistaken, you cannot mix ECC ram with non-ECC ram. If you want you cMP faster on paper, use 6pieces of the non-ECC ram to optimize the triple channel. Put it in slot, 1,2,3,5,6 & 7
     
  4. nick209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    nick209

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #4

    Most of time doing illustrator/photoshop/aperture/office. both ram are ECC ram but they are 1066 x4 and 1333 x4. not sure if this is an issue? besides, i will change me CPU as well... it looks better to change ram to all 1333hz.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    ECC RAM can be mixed with no ECC, I proved that.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/can-i-mix-memory-size.1903411/#post-21638766

    The real issue is UDIMM cannot mix with RDIMM.

    Also, 2Rx8 is the "wrong" spec for cMP. This kind of DIMM may work, but also may cause issue if you use all slots.
     
  6. nick209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    nick209

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #6

    Thank for your advise, finally i have upgrade my 5.1 to 32gb 1333 ram with 5690 cpu. and wifi ac.

    However will try to fix hand off issue late this weekend. thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    For Handoff, disable SIP and run CAT usually can fix the issue.
     
  8. nick209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    nick209

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #8
    Hi h9826790,
    I recently upgrade my 2012 late/ 2009 iMac to wifi AC + bt 4.0. but it looks like my hardware does't provide handoff on 2009 iMac..

    Verifying OS X version... Warning: This tool wasn't tested with OS X versions higher than 10.10. Detected OS version: 10.13.3

    Verifying Wi-Fi hardware... WARNING. An unknown/untested AirPort card using the 'BrcmNIC' kext is active. This tool can't fix this
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Did you download the beta or the master version. I think only the beta version can be run in High Sierra. I used CAT back in 10.13.0 to active Handoff, watch unlock, etc. It worked, and the patch survive until now (10.13.3).

    However, for the 2nd warning. I can't quite remember if I saw that before. But as long as you know how to recover the original kext, I think it's OK to try.
     

Share This Page

8 February 28, 2018