Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) & AMD Radeon R9 280X 3GB - 4K Support??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whirk, May 28, 2017.

  1. whirk, May 28, 2017
    Last edited: May 28, 2017

    whirk macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #1
    [​IMG]
    here is my current setup. I'm leaning towards a yes for my question but I do not know the answer absolutely so here goes..

    wondering if this video card will support two 4K Displays via the mini DisplayPort outputs?

    that is two displays @ 3840 x 2160 resolution running at 60Hz

    I'm looking at purchasing the Dell Ultra HD 4K P2415Q 24" Monitor which boasts a 3840 x 2160 resolution.

    Otherwise I'll be considering the Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25" Monitor which boasts a 2560 x 1440 resolution..

    thoughts, experiences, suggestions anyone??
     
  2. whirk thread starter macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #2
    I hear it might work @ 30Hz but no definite answers on 60Hz..
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Pretty sure the card itself is ok, the problem is software may make you hard to get 60Hz working.
     
  4. whirk thread starter macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #4
    yeah then maybe SwitchResX would help? It'd be great to hear some definite options from others who have actually tried running at these resolutions and have succeeded/failed to know for sure..
     
  5. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    4K@60Hz is no problem on the display ports, but the EFI won't like DP1.2 connections, it could (will?) crash the machine when the displays are connected at boot time. Attaching an additional non-DP1.2 display might help.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Yes, that looks like a flashed card. The Mac EFI won't boot with 4k 60Hz. But the card can boot with 4k 60Hz with the non Mac EFI ROM.
     
  7. whirk thread starter macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #7
    hmm... 4K isn't an absolute must for me, and i'd rather remain compatible with standard plug-n-play.. is a 2560 x 1440 resolution standard or does that require DP1.2 as well? Is sticking to 1920 x 1200 a safer bet??
    --- Post Merged, May 29, 2017 ---
    based on what i've read on this thread: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/4k-monitors-that-show-mac-boot-screen.1891483/

    "dp1,1 (max 2560x1440@60hz)"

    so is it just dp1,2 that isn't supported on Mac EFI but dp1,1 is?
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    DP 1.2 itself is not the problem. 4k also not a problem. Mac EFI boot screen also works well. However, you just can't put them all together plus 60Hz.

    The 30" ACD is 2560x1600, and come with DVI port, so the answer is very clear, you don't need DP1.2 for 2560x1440.

    If your 280x is the reference model, it should come with 2x mDP, and each of them can drive a 2560x1440 monitor flawlessly. The 27" ACD is 2560x1440 with mDP indeed.
     
  9. whirk thread starter macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #9
    word. i'll prolly stick to looking at purchasing the Dell UltraSharp 25 Monitor - U2515H that boasts a 2560 x 1440 at 60 Hz native resolution.. 4K is nice but in the end all i really need is at least 1920 x 1200..

    thanks for the input guys.
     
  10. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #10
    Yes, DP1.2 + Mac EFI is what causes the trouble. I own a U2515H which can be set to DP1.2 mode for MST daisy chaining (which OS X doesn't support properly anyway). Doing so will make the Mac stall at boot, DP1.1 works perfectly fine.

    DP1.2 isn't necessary for WQHD resolution, so that's not an issue.
     
  11. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #11
    Mine, flashed, is working as per screen shot. On initial display connection the Asus MX34V asks me to select DP 1.1
    I'm not using any 4K content, posting only to show successful resolution.
    Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 8.02.08 am.png
     
  12. whirk thread starter macrumors newbie

    whirk

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    life is slow right here.
    #12
    [​IMG]
    here's my current setup.. two Dell 2407WFP's. 3840x2160 would be nice but 2560x1440 will work fine too..
     
  13. Sharky II, Jun 1, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017

    Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Sorry, I'm confused by the replies. Can we get 60hz 4k on a non-flashed card using the HDMI and/or display ports, or no? Only with specific ports? I have:

    Main: 30" ACD with 5770 1GB (PC)
    Side/secondary monitor: Dell 24" (1920x1200) with stock GT120 for boot screen

    I'm an audio guy (Logic X) so never cared about a cutting edge GFX card, but have started using this Mac for photo/video editing, as it's so powerful compared to my MBP. I'm an Aperture/Lightroom user, and also starting to edit and grade more and more video in FCPX, including 4K footage. Looking into Davinci Resolve, too. Add to that, I'd like to purchase a 4K monitor if/when my 30" ACD dies (some waviness on gray backgrounds), and the R9 280X looks like a nice card to grab second hand.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page