Mac Pro 5,1 (mid 2010) SDD upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by digitalmatt, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. digitalmatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Ashland, OR
    #1
    Not sure where to drop this thread, here or OSx, so my apologies if it's in the wrong place.

    I'm putting SSD's in my Mac Pro 5,1. Two separate ones, one for OSx and one for Bootcamp.

    My question is which OSx should I put on it? I have the 8 core 2.4gHz, with 24gig of ram, and a Radeon R9 280.

    I'm currently running Yosemite, but didn't know if I should upgrade and what that would do to my machine, since it is an older model.

    Many thanks, and hopefully I'm starting this thread in the right place.
     
  2. freiheit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #2
    El Capitan 10.11 runs just fine on my Mac Pro 5,1. Sierra should run but I haven't felt the need to upgrade yet. Choose the OS version that works best for your needs though it's generally recommended, from a security standpoint, to use a more recently updated version.
     
  3. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #3
    sierra works great, windows 7 works great. I'm having issues installing windows 10 but I'm not sure if it's my thumb drive or not. Win 10 once installed should work great too

    HOWEVER. certain video cards may not work in sierra. my GT120 does and my GTX980 does, as does my 7970.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 26, 2016 ---
    if you're doing SATA ssd, consider a velocity SATA card, it can run 2 SSDs and boot of them, you'll get more out of that than the on-board SATA 2 (literally half as fast). Modern SSDs will max out a SATA 3 connection
     
  4. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #4
    I run 10.11 on my 5,1, and it runs wonderfully. As @freiheit mentioned, it should run Sierra like a peach but I have not felt compelled to upgrade yet.

    I have OS X on a 480GB SSD, Windows 10 on a 240GB SSD, a 1TB HDD for Time Machine, and a 2TB for general storage.

    I run Windows 10 on a separate SSD in this machine, and it too runs like a dream. If you need Windows on there, it's the way to go now. The only application that I have it on there for now is Overwatch, as I am eagerly but not hopefully awaiting a Mac version of it.
     
  5. digitalmatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    Ashland, OR
    #5
    how big of a thumb drive do I need? Last time I did a clean install, a 8gb was big enough, but that was a long time ago....
     
  6. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #6
    it says 4gb, 8gb should be more than enough
     
  7. zayaso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    Hi digitalmatt,

    I ran OS X 10.9.5 and Win 7 on a pair of SSD's just fine in my system, plus two additional SATA HDD's. I have my Win 7 SSD connected into a PCI-E slot mounted on an Apricorn Velocity X2 card, and my OS X SSD in one of the HDD tower slots (have to buy a special bracket for that, or make one yourself). I had no problems with this setup for over 2 years.

    In full disclosure, I had a problem this past week with my system, but unrelated to your question, which I am still diagnosing. I upgraded my OS X SSD to Sierra (typing on it now) and is working fine; my Win 7 SSD was upgraded to Win 10 as well, but I had to roll back that card to Win7 due to my nVidia drivers causing non-boot conditions under Win 10.
     
  8. js2704 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #8
    I had OS X on ssd then transferred to sm951 pcie. All fine, no issues with any so upgrades
     

Share This Page