Mac Pro 5,1 R9 390 10.13.6 - No hardware acceleration

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by microangelito, Dec 17, 2018.

  1. microangelito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,

    So I have a Mac Pro 5,1 which I have had an R9 390 in for about 2 years now with little issues beyond having to add the device ID to the two kext files. I use a GT120 for the boot screens and previously didn't have any issues until now.

    I hadn't used MacOS for a few months on this Mac and updated it to 10.13.6 High Sierra and noticed that the info.plist in the new AMD kexts is a different layout than before, so as usual I added the device ID next to where the 290X/390X device IDs were rebooted and had display output on the R9 390 again. However I now have flickering, the dock is white, depending what resolution I have menus going grey, changing colour and it seems there's no hardware acceleration running anymore. Reminds me of using MacOS in VMware.

    I have tried installing the old kexts but then I get nothing as they don't work on 10.13.6. I have also tried the hex edit on the hackintosh forums but then the driver again won't load.

    Does anyone else on here use an R9 290 or 390 in MacOS and can help me resolve this issue? Is this fixed in Mojave? I really would like to get this working as I am not in the market for a new graphics card or system right now.
    Cheers.
     
  2. parisinvest macrumors regular

    parisinvest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Location:
    Paris
    #2
    having 280 and 470 and 580, but not try 390, as I know that the amd gpu are supported directly by the latest apple system, from El Capitan to Mojave, if you have issue, the simple way to fix it might be a fresh install new system, you should have both cards work in new system
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    You can open the AMD8000Controller.kext have a look, the R9 290 / 390 (Device ID 67B1) is NOT supported OOTB.

    Please do NOT assume all AMD has native support. Re-install the macOS won't help anything.
     
  4. parisinvest macrumors regular

    parisinvest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Location:
    Paris
    #4
    I did not assume anything, i said might be and as i know, so please dont misunderstand. It's just a diacussion, not decision. Any thing we discuss here, even some mistakes, as i know we all make mistakes including you, this can help others to learn more too.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    You have BOTH the GT120 and the R9 390 installed (in Mojave)?
     
  6. microangelito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #6
    At the moment I am still on High Sierra 10.13.6, haven't been able to resolve this issue. But yes I have the GT120 and R9 390 installed in the system. It used to work with both installed. Wouldn't I need to install Mojave with dosdude's unofficial helper tool? Does the GT120 provide display output in Mojave?
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    IMO, NO, you should not use the patched OS if it can support your Mac natively.

    Try remove the GT120. It can cause unexpected issue in Mojave when co-installed with another GPU. Just the GT120 itself seems OK, the Mac EFI UGA can display (with no acceleration). But seems cannot mix with another card that need has driver support.
     
  8. microangelito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #8
    The mojave installer refuses to install, it doesn't think I have an appropriate video card. The R9 390 definitely supports metal but I guess this is because it's not officially supported. How would I get past this without the patcher?
     
  9. tsialex macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #9
    But it's the firmware update or the install that you are having trouble? You already have 140.0.0.0.0?
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    That error still comes after GT120 removed?

    Did you run the Mojave installer in latest Higher Sierra?
     

Share This Page