Mac Pro 5.1 SSD install

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Springtech, Nov 23, 2016.

  1. Springtech macrumors newbie

    Springtech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Location:
    Monticello, IN
    #1
    I'm planning to install an SSD via a pci slot on my Mac Pro 5.1. I currently have and will keep 1 bay with 1 TB drive and second bay with 3TB drive. I shouldn't have any issues with the actual install of the SSD it looks pretty straight forward...

    But how do I transfer my os Sierra and apps to the new SSD
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Carbon Copy Cloner the free trial will clone it or booting recovery partition on current install and using Disk Utility with its restore function take current install as source new drive once partitioned as destination then let it do its thing and your good.
     
  3. chriz_r macrumors member

    chriz_r

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #3
    superDuper is also another copying program for your harddrive.
     
  4. Thessman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    GR
    #4
    A fresh install in combination with migration assistant is another option.
     
  5. Springtech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Springtech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Location:
    Monticello, IN
    #5
    Thanks I didn't want to pay for it but if I can do it for free I'm going for it. Can you "clone" just the os and apps to the new drive?
     
  6. JMVB macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #6
    Superduper X2... I'm always have done my migrations with it, simple, easy and fast
     
  7. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Sure it gives you all files option or just what you select so you can leave out files/directories in say your home you do not want copied over.
     
  8. chriz_r macrumors member

    chriz_r

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #8
    Yup SuperDuper! is free for the purpose you're requiring. I would suggest to initially just clone the entire drive and delete what you don't need after booting off the new drive to ensure that everything works and transfers over. That's how I usually do it though so others might have a better way.
     
  9. Springtech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Springtech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Location:
    Monticello, IN
    #9

    I have about 700gb of stuff on the current drive and I'm using a 120gb SSD so I can't copy everything
     
  10. chriz_r macrumors member

    chriz_r

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #10
    Then CCC will better suit your needs as it's a 30day trial. Super duper is more of a click-click-done kinda thing.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 23, 2016 ---
    Just wanted to verify that this works for SpringTech's needs, I just used CCC and deselected every unnecessary file/folder i dont want copied over and the drive only took 30GB and is bootable, and I'm currently using the test drive. Make sure you let the program create the Recovery Partition.

    P.S.

    Im still using SuperDuper coz its free. Lol
     
  11. Springtech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Springtech

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Location:
    Monticello, IN
    #11
    How does that work?
     
  12. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    You do the install then at the last stage where you setup the user account you get the option to import from either TM backup, drive on machine, drive/machine on network, probably a few more I am forgetting ATM. Not as fine grained as the CCC if I remember it correctly I usually go for it all if doing it as I make sure I have plenty of space to go too.
     
  13. Wiltonian macrumors member

    Wiltonian

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #13
    I would slim down my current HD boot disc until it's got less than 120Gb on it, then repartition to make the boot partition 120Gb, then make sure it boots before using CCC to make the copy on the SSD. Less potential "gotchas" that way!
     
  14. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #14
    You can also migrate your setup and applications during install thats what I did good luck
     
  15. ctrlzone macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    #15
    Carbon Copy clone works great, take your time and read a tutorial on how to do it, its not hard and its free.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    In your case. I vote for utilising the CCC trial period.
     
  17. Thessman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    GR
    #17
    It doesn't carry over passwords, but cleans away some unneeded stuff. Overall the best way for me even though it's a bigger fuss.
     
  18. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    you can also just install the same OS on to the target drive, then when you boot from that drive import the user account etc from the old OS drive.
    thats what i do these days as it's so simple.
     

Share This Page