Mac Pro 5.1 upgrade smc conflict fan control

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Faethon, Aug 17, 2017.

  1. Faethon, Aug 17, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2017

    Faethon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #1
    Hi all
    I know this is a known issue, but I can't find the answer to it yet.
    I upgraded from 4.1 to 5.1, from quad to 6-core, my memory to 1333.
    My fan works continuously and loudly and my memory recognition remains at 1066.

    I know there is a conflict between my system SMC and my new processor SMC. Here is the image of things:

    Model Name: Mac Pro

    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1

    Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon

    Processor Speed: 3.46 GHz

    Number of Processors: 1

    Total Number of Cores: 6

    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB

    L3 Cache: 12 MB

    Memory: 16 GB

    Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.4 GT/s

    Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5

    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11

    Serial Number (system): ...

    Serial Number (processor tray): ...

    Hardware UUID: ...


    What do I do?
     
  2. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #2
    You did not search much, this has been chewed to death.

    Install Macs Fan Control.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    Do an NVRAM and SMC reset. That should fix the memory speed.

    It might also fix the fans. But if it does not fix the fans, install Macs Fan Control as Carp said. Then check all of your temperature sensors and fan speeds. What to do after that depends on what you see there.
     
  4. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #4
    Yea. I searched and I'm still searching. Having to read 40 pages of a thread in case I find the answer on the 40th doesn't help much, and I don't know if I'm setting the search parameters poorly. I hope to not spend more hours on this searching, if possible.

    I had installed mac fans control and gave it a try before I posted here. It only shows me these fans and they don't look like they work much.
    I am now looking at instructions on the app to see if I'm missing something.

    I have also tried to reset the SMC like 10 times with no result, I visited Apple's site to see if I can download a newer SMC but there is none for the 4.1 or 5.1. I also called Apple and talked to a technician, but got nowhere, and then she suggested I call an Apple affiliate and I did and they said the same, that they don't work on 'old' machines.
    I even upgraded to Sierra to see if maybe the software can sort the problem out, but in vain.
    So, here I am.

    Screenshot 2017-08-17 21.16.54.png
    --- Post Merged, Aug 17, 2017 ---
    Thank you.
    The SMC reset didn't work.
    I'll look up the NVRAM.

    I wonder, apart from the fans, is there something else that won't work correctly because of the SMC conflict if I don't fix it?
     
  5. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    Try this, remove your new 1333 RAM and replace with the original Apple RAM. Make sure you unplug the cMP before doing so.
    Then do a PRAM reset.
     
  6. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #6
    ActionableMango thanks. This time the PRAM worked and I see 1333 now :)
     
  7. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #7
    Guys, if anyone has a link to a thread anywhere where this was solved, please show me.
    To recap, I managed to update the RAM to 1333, but

    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f11

    * The SMC reset using apple's suggestion fails. (Shut down, remove power cable for 15 sec, wait 5 sec then power on)
    * Macs fan control doesn't seem to do anything to stop the fans.
     
  8. phairphan macrumors 6502a

    phairphan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Reject Beach
    #8
    An SMC reset is not going to solve the problem resulting from the mismatch between the SMC versions on the processor tray and backplane. You're using a 4.1 machine with a 5.1 processor tray. As such, your fans are going to run at full speed. Having said that, you should be able to set Macs Fan Control so the fans are running at slower RPMs.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    It seems you upgraded, but in the wrong way. You should flash the firmware by yourself and upgrade the CPU ONLY, but not get a 5,1 CPU tray to do the upgrade.
     
  10. Faethon, Aug 17, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017

    Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #10
    Thank you.
    As shown above, the PCI fan and the BOOSTA fan are the only ones showing as active in Macs Fan Control. They don't appear to be working too high, and when I pull the dials down to the lowest, I get no change in the sound of the fans I hear
    --- Post Merged, Aug 17, 2017 ---
    Yea. That's how I started. But made a mistake and screwed the 5 allen screws too much and apparently destroyed both the board and cpu. That's why I changed the whole tray.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    In this case, sorry, no solution but get the CORRECT tray (which means a 2009 Mac Pro CPU tray). The firmware is stored on the logicboard but not CPU tray. No matter which firmware you are running, you always use a 2009 tray on a 2009 Mac Pro.
     
  12. Faethon, Aug 18, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017

    Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #12
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Aug 18, 2017 ---
    Here are the possible options I see:

    1. If someone would point me to a solution involving the Macs Fan Control working right in my machine, that would be fantastic. Right now it looks like it can't lower the fans speed. Or maybe it doesn't even 'see' the CPU fan?

    2. Try to return the 2010 tray and buy a 2009 tray, then upgrade the CPU (costly)

    3. Buy a 2010 logic board? I see one for less than $200, supposedly new. Is there any reason why that shouldn't work? That way the SMCs would be the same?

    4. Sell my MacPro without a working tray for whatever and build a new Windows PC for less than $800 with a 3.8 GHz 8 core Ryzen 1700x. (A $1500 Ryzen system appears to be 30% faster on Premiere Pro than the new $5700 Mac Pro) :) (I already have the SSD and HDDs, power supply, a starter graphics card)

    What say the community?
     
  13. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #13
    1. AFAIK if you have mismatching trays then there is no solution to the fan.

    2. This seems ideal to me. I don't understand why you call it costly. The 2009 dual proc tray shouldn't cost you significantly more than the 2010 dual proc tray did, and you'll get your money back from that by returning it or selling it. And you can use the CPUs you have now.

    3. I think this would work in theory but I'm not aware of anyone having actually done it, so I don't know if there are any gotchas.

    4. This is basically what I did, but it hurts giving up MacOS and I miss the Mac Pro.
     
  14. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #14
    1. You see, this is the first time I see this told. So far I've been getting the wrong advise about it. Thanks

    2. It is, because I've already lost money trying to do this. Money that could have gone in solution 4 :). As I see it now, I HAVE to invest to make the system functional, to sell it.

    3. And right now I'm burned from complications I couldn't predict...

    4. I can say goodbye to MacOS. Unless Apple brings out a new upgradable Pro that is also affordable enough to compete with Ryzen systems, they will be out of the game, in a year, MacOS or not. It's not worth a $4000 difference
     
  15. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #16
    I know.. but that can't be a production machine, but a show-off project.
    If we say here that there are things that can go wrong when we upgrade the old Macs because Apple doesn't want us to, that system's functionality is hanging by a thread...
     
  16. Faethon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    #17
    The solution to this was the the ebay seller offered to replace the tray with the 4.1 one, so I only had to pay for the extra shipping. Very lucky he had one and grateful for him offering. The machine is quiet like a Sunday morning in the suburbs now.
    Thanks to all that answered
     

Share This Page