Mac Pro 5,1 - Using Nvidia 1080ti in BootCamp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DanH1080, Jul 5, 2018.

  1. DanH1080, Jul 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018

    DanH1080 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    #1
    Currently trying to get bootcamp working with my Mac Pro 5,1 using a 1080ti (Unflashed)

    Installed Windows 10 via usb using a modified bootcamp 5.1 installer and the Ati card, I had to unplug the apple ssd to get the Windows installer to work but other than that it was fine. Bootcamp drivers installed and I can boot into Windows 10 using the Ati card.

    When I plug in the Nvidia card and boot into Mac OS I'm using bootchamp to restart into windows / bootcamp drive. However since there's no drivers for the 1080ti on the windows os (assuming this is the problem) I'm unable to boot, black screen.

    I've tried downloading Nvidia drivers while the Ati card is plugged in, however the installer doesn't allow me to install without a Nvidia card and this is the only way I can boot.

    Also tried resetting pram etc. SIP is also disabled. Just wondering whether using a 1080ti with win 10 is possible or not / if there's any info on how to get this working?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I used my unflashed 1080Ti on cMP to run dual OS with no issue.

    1) To make it easier, you can use a disc to install Windows but not USB. So that you can hold "C" during boot (with only your 1080Ti installed), no need to swap GPU later.

    2) Windows 10 can automatically install the driver you need. However, you need to allow time for it to do that. Please try remove the AMD card, install the 1080Ti, boot to Windows 10, and wait for at least 5 min (black screen). The 1080Ti should able to work without any assistant.

    3) If you can install both cards together (I assume your AMD card is a Mac EFI card, otherwise, no point to swap out the 1080Ti and use the AMD card to install Windows), then you can go to device manager, manually "update" the driver to "Microsoft basic display adaptor". Then fully uninstall the AMD driver. After that, you can shutdown and install the 1080Ti with the AMD card still there. And now you can boot to Windows 10, and install the Nvidia driver (the AMD card should still recognise at MS basic display adaptor, so, no conflict with the Nvidia driver). Then remove the AMD card.

    I just swap out my 1080Ti for and install a RX580 few days ago. I also use Bootchamp to boot into Windows 10. That's was with the Nvidia driver and no AMD driver installed. All I need is just wait for about a min, once the driver installed automatically, the card works and display back to normal. No assistant required. I assume you can do the same thing if swap from AMD to Nvidia.
     
  3. DanH1080 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    #3
    Thanks very much for this. I used a dual layer dvd and copied the Windows 10 iso+ booted from disc and I was able to install windows again using the 1080ti and install the necessary drivers. Really appreciate the info.
     
  4. clickykbd macrumors newbie

    clickykbd

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    #4
    This post was VERY helpful, wanted to add another comment.

    I didn't have a DVDRW handy, but did have the original Radeon that shipped with my 5.1. I was able to install both cards making sure the 1080 was in the slot I want it in when done. But I did not have the correct cables to additionally power the PCI-E on the 1080ti-ftw3. I figured I'd give it a shot with no additional power, and it worked (after a little back and forth, I sometimes have AHCI boot issues when swapping hardware, which is usually resolved with the install-usb, except when I don't have display output!).

    Windows 10 booted with the display on the Radeon and recognized the 1080 (with errors), manually triggering the driver update for the 1080 appeared to work and on the next boot I took out the Radeon and powered the 1080 fully. Came up without issue. Now, finally, the Nvidia driver and tools package recognizes the card and lets me proceed with their installation. I performed that update, rebooted. Then I used the AMD Clean Uninstall Utility to remove the old AMD bits, and did a final reboot.

    I also managed the install for the CUDA Toolkit v9.2 and the EVGA Precision OC tool right after. Also note this was a non BOOTCAMP install, I don't have a OSX instance on this machine.

    The only thing I skipped was installing a generic display driver, or deleting the windows supplied AMD driver from Add-Remove programs, which it is probably safe to do now but I didn't want to poke anymore.
     
  5. owlinksy macrumors newbie

    owlinksy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Hello, yes this post is very helpful I agree, I do have one question.
    I have read on here that in Bootcamp that the Unflashed 1080ti will run at Pcie 1.0 speeds. But 2.0 speeds in macOS. I am hoping to to use the full 2.0 in bootcamp, is this true? or any solution to this other than flashing of the card?
     
  6. thornslack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #6
    If you are running the latest firmware I believe that all cards are able to run pcie 2.0 in bootcamp windows. Otherwise non flashed nvidia cards run at 1.0 in this instance, although the performance difference is negligible between the two.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Upgrade your cMP's firmware to 138.0.0.0.0 or later (the latest official one is 141.0.0.0.0 now).

    This will fix the PCIe link speed issue. All PCIe cards will able to run at PCIe 2.0 speed in any OS.
     
  8. owlinksy macrumors newbie

    owlinksy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8
    Amazing, yes I am running 138.0.0.0.0.0. Still unsure how to upgrade to 14 with High Sierra as I will be needing to do this for nvme upgrade.
    Just to clarify as this seems to good to be true. Even with a UNflashed GTX 1080ti? I have my finger on the buy button if this is true!
     
  9. startergo macrumors 6502a

    startergo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    #9
    I got 2 GT-640's one with original bios and one UGA flashed. Both show 2.5GT/s in OSX in both x16 slots with 141 ROM.
     
  10. owlinksy macrumors newbie

    owlinksy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #10
    I assume this is the max gt/s these cards offer?
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Run CL!ng (free Appstore apps) to check the actual memory bandwidth. Nvidia GPU use dynamic link speed to save power. System report may not able to show you the correct max link speed.
    1080Ti.png
     

Share This Page

10 July 5, 2018