Mac Pro 5,1 with 7950 supports 3440 @ 60hz?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gertub, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. Gertub macrumors newbie

    Gertub

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #1
    Hi so i made a thread a while back about 4k @ 60hz with the 7950 & it looks like there are only a few options with sst capable monitors and switchresx but i thought i'd make a new thread about 3440 support at 60hz, i just got a AOC U3477PQU and it appears it only works at 30hz using a minidisplayport to displayport cable.

    Does anyone know a way to get it to work a 60hz? i can add a custom profile in switchresx at 60hz but it just says "not installed" under status even after a restart.

    spec: mac pro 5,1 /w 7950 & AOC U3477PQU on mavericks 10.9.5

    Also if you want to know the reason i am so adamant on 60hhz, it's because 30hz feels sluggish compared to 60hz when moving the mouse.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Yes you should be able to do 60Hz just fine. The 7950 supports 4k@60Hz over MDP, and 3440x1440 is smaller than that in both dimensions.

    Are you using 10.9.2 or newer? Is your SwitchresX up to date?
     
  3. Gertub thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gertub

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #3
    Yep on 10.9.5 and yeh switchresx is up to date.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    I don't know then. If I had a spare hard drive, I'd try a fresh install of OS X on that and see what happens (no switchresx or anything else), just to eliminate software and configuration as being the problem.

    Do you have Windows installed? If so, does it do 3440x1440@60 in Windows?
     
  5. Gertub thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gertub

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #5
    Yeh windows will work for sure i had a up2414q full 4k monitor before this & it worked in windows 60hz just in mac it was 30hz and it seems to be the same story with the 3440 monitor even via displayport.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    So it's not a hardware problem, it's either an issue with OS X or third party software or something you've set/changed.

    60Hz at higher resolutions was fixed in 10.9.2. I'd definitely do a clean install of OS X on a different drive and see what happens.
     
  7. aarond12 macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
    #7
    I just got a 7970 from Mac Vid Cards and it runs my 4K monitor at 60Hz with no problem. It even enables scaled resolutions all the way up to 8K at 60Hz! (Tiny!!!)
     
  8. Gertub thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gertub

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #8
    Your post just gave me a idea to check my monitor settings, low and behold under OSD Setup there is a option called "DP capability" and i changed it from 1.1 to 1.2 and now i can do 60hz omg!!! i've been using this monitor for almost a year at 30hz LOL!
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Render at 8K, but display at 4K, that's why it can keep 60Hz.
     

Share This Page