Mac Pro and GT630 - flash?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 719c6, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. 719c6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    I recently have been introduced to a 2009 Mac Pro and been learning alot but is alot to learn. I have flashed the 5,1 and loaded High Sierra along with Windows 7 and 10. But...

    I have a GT630 and was wondering if I could flash it with a boot screen enabling rom?

    It works after booting into OSX but not the boot screen.

    Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks!
     
  2. wjdavis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    #2
    I'm thinking flashing the card on your own would require some pretty serious know-how, possessed by relatively few folks at this point. Your best bet might be something like macvidcards.com, unless I am just ignorant to the ins and outs of flashing--I use a 980 Ti which isn't flashed.

    If you're not interested in paying someone to flash the card, you could also pick up a GT 120 (or some other secondary GPU). I keep one of these in slot 1, so if I need to go to Windows, and I can get the boot screen at least on one display. I don't remember what I paid for the GT 120 but it was less than the cost of flashing the 980 Ti through macvidcards.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    No, but you can do a GTX680 quite easily. Steps in my sig.
     
  4. 719c6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I can't find that in your sig, maybe I just not looking in the right place...?
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    It's the third line in the signature of every post I make. The one that says "Step-by-Step Instructions for Flashing GTX680". You can't see it below this? If not, something is wrong.
     
  6. 719c6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    I do now but I did not see the sig before. Thanks.
     

Share This Page