Mac Pro and World Of Warcraft

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Apple*, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Apple*, Sep 13, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011

    Apple* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #1
    I have a 4 Core Mac Pro (2009 Model).

    It has 12GB RAM. Right now on the "Ultra" setting, the game skips frames and feels a little jumpy.

    I think I need to upgrade the stock video card. I know I can spend $400+ on an Apple 5780 upgrade but I was wondering if I can get a Non Stock card (AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5). I've read on some sites that these 6000 series cards don't need any special hack to get them working. However before I run out and buy it. I wanted some input

    At the moment, I'm using an Apple Thunderbolt Display and a 20" Acer monitor.

    1. Will my wow experience improve? (ie/ are shaders supported, etc?)
    2. Any limitation of this card on a Mac Pro (ie/ OpenCL is not supported)


    Thanks for all your help.

    Forgot some details

    Running Lion 10.7.1
    12GB RAM
    1TB Hard disk
    Using Ethernet for Internet (no WiFi in this model)
     
  2. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    It won't work. The end (so far).

    However, the Radeon HD 6870 will work for the time being.
     
  3. robertbrian23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #3
    one quick question what are the nvidia cards that is mac pro compatible? thanks.
     
  4. Apple* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #4
    whats the biggest memory on that card? (6870)
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    Current version of WoW has poor performance on OS X even with a powerful card like 5870. The standard trick is to turn down Shadow Quality, Liquid Detail, and Sunshafts video settings. All other settings can be turned up if your card is fast enough.
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Any of the upgrade cards will be at least 10x the speed of the stock Nvidia GT120. 10x starts with the 5770.
    I'd do the 6870 (PC) and use the tools in this forum to get it working. Cheaper than Apples 5770 and close to the power of 5870.
    The 6970m is a mobility card for laptops. 6970 proper does not work right now on Mac HW. Netkas is working on it but really the gains you'd see in Warcraft vs. the 6870 may not be even close to worth it. I was bemused with the 6970 performance gains vs. 5870.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    2GB.
    They have 1GB and 2GB varieties.
     
  8. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    There's no 6870 with more than 1GB made for the Mac Pro is there ?
     
  9. Apple* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #9
    Is the 6870 fully supported by Mac OS X Lion 10.7.1 (and higher)?

    I'm a noob when it comes to PC hardware but I noticed that there are several companies that make the Radeon 6870. Can I pick any company?

    I've also read that I need some sort of dongle for the power connector. (not sure of this).

    My past experience with Video cards has always been plug and play (no power connection, or cables)

    I saw this.

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...HD6870&url=search-alias=electronics&x=25&y=17
    Is this compatible?
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    There is no 6870 of any memory size "made for the Mac Pro".

    No, the 6870 is not "fully supported" by Lion. In fact, it's not supported by Apple at all. Those cards happen to work for the most part, for now, if you take some steps to make them work.

    Yes, you need two of these:
    http://www.svideo.com/x1900.html
     
  11. Mythlin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #11
    Just wanted to give some input, I just recently got a 6870 for my 2008 Mac Pro. So far, it's been very stable on Lion 10.7.0 and 10.7.1, I'm really liking it so far! Games pretty good, even on my 30" Cinema Display(similar resolution) to your monitor, and I'm running a separate 24" 1920x1200 monitor. Games good in windows, and is over-clockable and what not in Windows. I bought the XFX Black Edition, has two fans. It's runs pretty darn cool. Way better than buying a 5770 for the same price..!

    Hope this helped!

    :)
     
  12. Apple* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #12
    Which 6870 did you get? Can I get anyone from the link I posted from Amazon.com?
     
  13. razorpig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #13
    Thanks for your input! I just ordered my 2GB 6870 on Friday for my mid-2009 Mac Pro with a 30" Cine like yours. Did you have to do anything other than just plug it in to get it working? From everything else I've read, that's all it takes, but I'd really appreciate hearing back from you....thanks allot.
     
  14. lazy4u macrumors newbie

    lazy4u

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #14
    Im using Mac Pro 5,1 3.2 Quad 5870.WoW runs great under windows using Dx11. The lowest frame rate(windows)iv seen is 39FPS in SW outside AH when very bizzy.Its less then that in OSX(10.6.8)and looks so much worse.Its really blocky looking while windows Dx11 looks so smooth compared to OSX version. Everything maxed v-sync off 1980x1080.I dont know if id get any better frames using 1 monitor. Pokerstars on one and WoW on other
     
  15. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #15
    OS X uses OpenGL. Windows looks much better in pretty much all circumstances.
     
  16. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    I've run WoW on both. Windows is better, but if it really looks blocky on OS X, something is set up incorrectly. Lower frame rates, yes. Blocky, no.
     
  17. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #17
    I think he has run into the bug, where if you have liquid detail above 'fair' multisampling doesn't work.
     
  18. Apple* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #18
    Did you get your Video card working? Which one did you order (specifically)? Any issues with OpenGL or WoW? Please feel free to post your detailed report.
     

Share This Page