Mac Pro Angelbird PX1 PCIe Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by <!DOCTYPE>, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. <!DOCTYPE> macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #1
    I upgraded my 2012 Mac Pro about 2 months ago with the AngelbirdWings PX1 PCIe Adapter and the Samsung 512GB SM951 AHCI M.2 SSD. I have noticed a significant speed boost on boot up and a slight improvement with apps such as Photoshop.

    The Blackmagic app shows 915 single Write and 960 single Read (see attached screenshots). My questions is, are these numbers good for this upgrade? The Sonnet Tempo PCIe 3.0 SSD claims numbers of 1400+
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like you've got it in slot 2. Move it to slot 3 or 4 :)
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  4. <!DOCTYPE> thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #4
    That's the first thing I checked. I have it in slot 3 (second from the top).
    --- Post Merged, Mar 29, 2016 ---
    Is that for a single read and write?
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Yes.
     
  6. <!DOCTYPE> thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #6
    Does anyone else experience these benchmark numbers with the AngelbirdWings PX1 PCIe Adapter?
     
  7. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #7
    Doc, did you ever figure out why the speed was throttled? I had an angelbird as well and I only got around 900 MB/s
     
  8. <!DOCTYPE> thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #8
    I was able to get similar numbers if I let the app run beyond the first past. I will post new screenshot later today.
     
  9. ifraaank macrumors regular

    ifraaank

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Odense C, Denmark
    #9
    Yes, it needs to run a couple of times. It's simply because the needles in the app isn't quick enough to reach 1,5gb/s before the transfer is complete :p If they would just stop using that slow animation, or make a 10GB file instead of a 5GB, it'd show the correct speed.
     
  10. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #10

    Since you have that PX1, can you help me with two questions?


    #1.
    I just ordered the exact combo you have. Now will have to move my existing OSX to the new boot drive.
    So far, I have most of my projects on a 1TB SSD, which is about 80% filld.
    Assuming, I will be able to reduce my content down to mach the 512 Gb sice,
    how would you proceed on the install routine?

    New Installation vs. SuperDuper Clone vs. Apple Time Capsule Backup ?

    Would a Bootcamp Partition influence your choice from above?

    #2.

    Whats your experience with the heatsink? Is it getting real hot ?

    Thanks folks,
     
  11. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  12. gr8pics macrumors regular

    gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #12
    Just got this one, and a Samsung 960 Evo 500, but it wont show up in Disktools. Anyone know why?
    I also installed the Angelbird sw/driver.
    MAC osx 10.11.6 MP51
     
  13. Filin Contributor

    Filin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #13
    Because it NVMe. It require driver to work with macOS. Download here http://www.macvidcards.com/nvme-driver.html
     
  14. simchippy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    #14
  15. Bollockser, Jul 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2017

    Bollockser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    #15
    (AHCI ssds ONLY)
    Ive got mine in a 2009 Mac Pro, 4th Slot. Averages about 1420 write and 1360 read.
    Runs at only 90°F!

    I did turn off the annoying LED lights by pinching off the 0-ohm resistor, otherwise my Mac was emitting way too much light for nighttime work.
     
  16. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #16
    No, NVME drives will not boot. As stated above AHCI SSDs will boot.

    Lou
     

Share This Page