Mac Pro - Apple Care -

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hi.lalo, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. hi.lalo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #1
    Hi everybody,

    I'm new in the forum. I hope you can help me with this question. This is what happened.

    I bought a Mac Pro on 2007 with Apple Care included. My mistake was that I never opened the Apple Care Box and registered the number:confused:. The Apple care box hasnt been opened since then and my Mac Pro was never covered by Apple Care. Fortunatelly I never had a problem with the Mac Pro and I sold it early this year:D.

    I've just bought a new Mac Pro without Apple Care. Do you know if I still can open the old apple care box and registered that Apple Care number with my new Mac Pro?


    Thanx & Regards,
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    TBH I don't see why not. As long as the serial number has not been registered before, and the Applecare covers your type of machine then you shouldn't have a problem.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    It's still the same AppleCare so you should be able to do that. Give it a try, the system will notify you if the registration number is invalid
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    I believe that you can. It's unopened and unregistered. Unless you purchased it WITH the MacPro (where Apple typically registers it on the spot) I think you're fine. My suggestion is if you have a MacPro without AC today that you'd like to register then do it. Worst case is it doesn't work.
     
  5. hi.lalo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #5
    Thanx

    Thanx Guys, you´re right nothing to loose.

    That Mac Pro is at home. So I'll try it later and let you know then..
     
  6. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #6
    Yes, if it was never registered you can use it on another MP that is still w/i it's original warranty period.
     
  7. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #7
    Yes, if its still in box and never registered you are good to go.
     

Share This Page