mac pro as a raid box?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macmanmatty, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. macmanmatty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    (x,y)
    #1
    Round here 1st gen 2006 macpros go for $100-$150. Much cheaper than any 4 drive holding raid box. I was thinking about buying 6 of these to hold 24 3 tb hard drives and put the four drives in each one in raid 1. Any reason why this would be stupid other than space and weight which I don't care about? For $150 I get a cheaper raid box and free a mac pro and also I could run them all on my wireless network.
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Well bus speed would be one thing to look out for I believe them machines only have the SATA1 connections but if you are accessing them wirelessly then that probably does not matter as your never going to saturate the bus. You also could try using only four machines those machines have a couple of extra SATA ports that are unused so longish sata cables run up into the optical bay and a couple of molex to sata power adapters and you have six HD in each machine.
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Yeah, they idle at ~170W.
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    I agree with Umbongo, Mac Pros are too power hungry.
     
  5. Giuly, Oct 26, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #5
    Unless you go for the ProRaid, which is $189. And it even comes in a 8-bay variant.
     
  6. macmanmatty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    (x,y)
    #6
    But would not the free computer be worth it? I have no care about speed either as long as I can access the data no concerns.
     
  7. Giuly, Oct 27, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #7
    Six Mac Pros, 2006 or 2011, constitute a data center in my book, not a RaidBox. I hope you have air conditioning, man.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    The power required and heat generated makes this unfeasible. If you need 24 drives, three of the enclosures Giuly linked to will cost you $1050. Six of those Mac Pros @ $150 = $900. You will easily make back the $150 difference in electricity costs within a year.
     
  9. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Yep, six 1,1 Mac Pros running 24/7 is over $1,000 a year in power costs.
     
  10. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

    dan1eln1el5en

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #10
    i had that Mac Pro, my electrical bill jumped up for a while.
    when I moved to a mac mini it calmed down to a reasonable level.

    my mac pro experience have made me an electrical consumption fanatic.

    (for a year I had the mac pro and a PS3 rev. 1 running 24/7, I ended up paying 3 times more than the previous tenant in electricity. ow...)
     

Share This Page