Mac pro as a router. Is it safe??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OldMacNewb30, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. OldMacNewb30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #1
    Is it safe to hook up a Mac Pro as a router then back to my other router for my other devices? Thus making the internet as fast as possible on my Mac Pro? Is this safe?
     
  2. Tesselator, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Why wouldn't it be? Unless you MacPro is crashy... Or the hubbed connections need a critical level of up-time or something.

    I've never tried that of course. Heck, I wouldn't even know what setting to use in order to make the second port act like a hub - nor if it would actually be any faster. I have a hunch it wouldn't actually be faster tho.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    One thread should suffice, but I answer anyway. While it is possible to do so, the Mac Pro has to be running all the time to let your other devices connect to the internet too, sleeping does not count as on.

    It is easier to just go modem > router > computers (including the Mac Pro) / devices.
     
  4. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #4
    You can do it, but it won't be measurably faster. There's no reason to configure it the way you describe. It's just less convenient for no benefit.
     

Share This Page