Mac Pro as an IT professionnal

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Vesperal, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. Vesperal, Jun 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Vesperal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  2. Panther Al macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #2
    While I don't currently work in the IT field, back when I did I never see any issues with going the mac way. With the use of VM, and understanding the limitations of virtual machines, I can't think of any real reasons why not.

    As far as manufacturing enviroment, that last IT job of mine was the instalation of 56 Mac mini's on the shop floors for production use (Reporting, Material Use, etc) and they have proven to be a lot more durable than our old machines. Small size allows them to be tucked away out of the line of fire as far as getting beat on and such - only needed to replace one because of getting bashed.
     
  3. donw35 macrumors regular

    donw35

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I use my Mac Pro for IT work, it allows me to run different OS's for testing and configuration, I run VM's for Windows 7 and Linux, also use a VM of Windows XP to program field radios.

    OS X works great for this with dual 24" monitors and multiple desktop, the more ram the better
     
  4. nefan65 macrumors 65816

    nefan65

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #4
    Mac, and OS X work great in the IT field. I don't have a Mac Pro [Macbook Pro, 13.3" w/8GB and SSD]. It runs flawlessly, and does all of what you mentioned. I use VirtualBox [Free], and run Windows 7, along with Debian and CentOS VM's daily. No issues at all. I even connect natively to a 2008 AD infrastructure, along with Exchange 2010 [Use built in Mail App].

    You won't be sorry, and I can only imagine how well a Mac Pro with 16GB or more will run, along with a couple of nice 24" monitors...or a couple of nice Apple Displays! :eek:
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    I use a Mac mini with 8GB of RAM and an 256GB SSD for work.

    I spend 95% of my time in OS X -- email (Lotus Notes), Safari, Microsoft Office, RDP, Things, iChat, Bomgar, etc.

    A very small amount of my time is spent in a VM. Usually doing some SQL Server admin stuff, or hitting one of the intranet sites that require IE.
     
  6. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #6
    My UX background is SunOS (late 1980's / early 1990's) and Linux (starting in 1993).

    As an IT guy, I've been using a Mac as my UX Workstation since the Rev C. iMac G3/266 running LinuxPPC circa 1999-2000. I switched to MacOS X when the Public Beta was first released.

    From there to the iMac G4, PowerMac G4 FW800, PowerMac G5, and currently the 2006 Mac Pro 1,1 since it was released.

    No real complaints about the Mac Pro.

    With that said though, lately I'm thinking for my purposes an iMac or Mac Mini would really do everything I need.
     
  7. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #7
    I don't know if it has a lot of real-world value, but I've created a "Geekbench per dollar" metric.

    Mini Geekbench G/$
    $599 6474 10.8
    $799 7255 9.1
    $899 7807 8.7
    $999 9455 9.5

    Pro Geekbench G/$
    $2,499 9681 3.9
    $2,899 10733 3.7
    $3,499 14074 4.0
    $3,699 15720 4.2
    $4,999 22574 4.5
    $6,199 24159 3.9

    iMac
    $2,199 12529 5.7
    $1,699 11027 6.5
    $1,999 9109 4.6
     
  8. strwrsfrk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Arlington, VA, USA
    #8
    My personal Mac Pro handles simultaneous XCode and XNA projects using VMWare and Windows 7. I got a ton of RAM on sale, but 16GB should easily have covered my personal needs.

    I wish I could use my Pro at my job (I'm a Systems Admin at a startup), but they really can't afford one.

    So yes, I would say that the Ma Pro should easily meet and exceed your needs.
     
  9. blurobot macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #9
    I'm looking at doing the same thing as the OP. One related question I have is how many core is really needed to run os x + 2 VMs simultaneously (win 7 + linux centOS). Anyone has benchmark links for VMs on Mac Pros? Tried finding some but never did. Most benchmark are for video stuff.

    I'm really wondering if going from 4 to 8 core make a difference. Technically it should but technically a 12 core should be twice as fast a 6 core but in real life it just doesn't work out that way.
     
  10. strwrsfrk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Arlington, VA, USA
    #10
    What kind of benchmarks are you looking for? I could shoot over a WEI for Windows 7 on VMWare, but anything more specific that you're looking for?

    A quad-core machine should be enough for general VM configurations (especially with hyperthreading), but I have no idea what type of workflow you're trying to do.

    And it's a bit of a misconception that 2x cores is the same as 2x speed. In a perfect world, every OS and application would fully and properly utilize each CPU core to its fullest potential at ~0% overhead. In that scenario, a 4-core 3.0GHz CPU would indeed perform twice as efficiently as a 2-core 3.0GHz CPU with the same architecture. However, things like differences in architectures (i.e. Sandy Bridge vs Ivy Bridge), cache sizes, inefficiencies in process scheduling, virtual- vs actual-core efficiency, proper (and improper) threading of applications, and general failure for a lot of software to scale with multiple cores means that the perfect world scenario is unrealistic.

    Of course, that being said, all things being equal I would take my 2.26GHz 8-core machine over a 2.93GHz quad-core machine for almost every task (except perhaps gaming).
     
  11. Vesperal, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Vesperal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  12. strwrsfrk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Arlington, VA, USA
    #12
    Yes, it should just fine. However, you will likely require an adapter or special sled (all Mac Pro - 1,1 through 5,1 - have required something like this). Currently, I use these in my 4,1: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/ My assumption is that if a 6,1 is released, you will need something similar.
     
  13. foodog macrumors 6502a

    foodog

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #13
    It will..... just place it in the empty optical drive slot... that is where mine is. That way I boot off the SSD and still have the 4 drive bays for internal storage.
     
  14. Vesperal, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Vesperal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  15. oskin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #15
    Don't get a mac if you want to run mainly Windows on it because it will be a pain in the ass. Mac is good for MacOsx but you will have a hard time navigating with Windows OS.
     
  16. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #16
    What is the issue?

    I use fusion and it works well. It's not as seamless, you're right about that.
     
  17. Vesperal, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Vesperal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  18. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #18
    You will be very happy with a Mac Pro. I work in a high end multinational engineering environment. The work is very resource intensive & demanding. I do a very wide variety of engineering, scientific, design, and modeling work. I set mine up with one large dedicated Samsung 830 SSD for the OS & Apps, I have two additional multi terabyte drives for storage.

    Being my third Mac Pro, I knew exactly how I wanted this one, and it's a dream. Maxed out with ram, running VMware for windows, it's a super fast, fun, and very efficient machine. Driving two Apple Thunderbolt Displays I can get a lot of work done quite quickly.
     
  19. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #19
    I work in the IT field and have used Macs to do work on my past two jobs.

    It varies greatly what I do from job to job but if I needed Windows or Linux specific stuff I just launched VMWare. Only a few times did I ever need to boot into Windows to work in OpenGL or DirectX heavy applications. (Although they'll run in VM's, sometimes there are bugs).

    This will sound silly, but honestly unless you really know your co-workers well I'd suggest keeping your Mac usage a secret.

    Two jobs ago my supervisor called my job into question when he found out I bought a Mac. He went to the department head insisting I must not know my job because I was using an "easy" operating system. (Thankfully my work proved otherwise and I eventually was given my supervisors job as I knew leaps and bounds more than he did but still.)

    My current job could care less thankfully and they're more curious about it since most of them have never used one.

    All in all though I find it easy to do work on a Mac even if you have to support or develop in Windows environments.

    ----------

    ? Navigating through Windows is the exact same on a Mac as it is on a native Windows machine, sometimes easier depending on the applications you need if you use VMWare Fusion and have it dock Windows applications on your Mac toolbar.
     
  20. foodog macrumors 6502a

    foodog

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #20
    That is an absolute untruth. Windows runs as well on Apple hardware as on any PC hardware

    ----------

    The good news is software developers are turning out gaming titles for Mac at the same time as for Windows. Unlike the past where it could be years later.

    ----------

    Not to mention Bootcamp, which comes with all the drivers Windows needs. I have bootcamp installed and use Parallels to run that virtually 95% of the time. The other 5% where I want all the resources in Windows I have that option of running Windows native.
     
  21. Vesperal, Jun 9, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    Vesperal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
  22. timmy67 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #22
    I work as an sysadmin and I use a MP 2010 along with 3 24" screens and it's the perfect combo for me. When I'm out of the office I've got a 11" Air.
     
  23. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #23
    You're still going to want to be in Windows to play all titles. Sorry OS X. But having frames double in Windows on same HW is just too enticing. Image quality is better on Win games as well. + you can over-clock your GPU and run tons of custom configs.
     
  24. macuser453787 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Location:
    Galatians 3:13-14
    #24
    I'm not in IT but have seen similar things before, though not to the same level per se. I don't really understand it actually, other than that I guess the bias towards Windows machines and against Apple/Mac/Mac OS can get so extreme that it produces these kinds of situations. People judging others is not a good thing, and that's especially true when someone does so out of ignorance. chrono1081, I have compassion for you and am glad things worked out for you in that situation. :)

    It's odd really, because it seems that for many years that Apple has made great strides towards cross-compatibility with Windows (the culmination of all of that being Boot Camp/Parallels), yet it seems (unless I'm mistaken) that Microsoft has not made similar strides towards Mac OS (aside from releasing Mac versions of MS Office etc.).

    To me it seems that aside from higher prices for Mac, Apple has positioned the Mac very well in that it can run OSX as well as Windows. So those who may have had some reason (founded or unfounded) to dislike the Mac prior to the Boot Camp/Parallels releases really don't have much reason to continue to dislike it, other than because of the price point, which is understandable.

    Truth be told, many years ago I harbored the opposite bias - for Mac, against Windows. Not anymore though. I've used Windows enough to be quite comfortable with it and actually kind of like some of it's features. But, I'm a Mac user through and through and that is just my preference. :)
     
  25. foodog macrumors 6502a

    foodog

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #25
    Now that software companies are releasing games on both platforms there is no need to run Windows... Of course you can run Windows on Apple hardware if you choose.... Sorry PC's you can't run a great stable OS like OSX. :)
     

Share This Page