Mac Pro best logic board upgrade in a Mac 1,1 case?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by withalligators, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. withalligators macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    #1
    So, I guess my 1,1 logic board is dead. It turns on and the fans spin, things get warm, but it never chimes or posts in anyway. I think the PSU died and took it with it. So, I have to get a new logic board. I already ad the firmware for 2,1 loaded on there, can I put an actual 2,1 board in the case? Can I put a 3,1? 4,1 and up used DDR3 and were drastically different right?

    What do you suggest?
    Cheers
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Ar... buy a whole new 4,1 (I mean a used 4,1) may be easier than upgrade the mobo, and all other components one by one. Also, much cheaper.
     
  3. withalligators thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    #3
    I understand going to 4,1 would be a full overhaul and thus not worth it. I was mostly referring to the 2,1 and 3,1 motherboard compatibility in a 1,1 case.
     
  4. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    There was a topic like this not that long ago.
    It is possible. If I remember correctly, the biggest problem are screws for RAM memory cage.
     
  5. RC Mike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    #5
    His point was that you might very well find a whole 4,1 for what you would spend in parts to fix your 1,1. I've seen used 1,1s going for a few hundred bucks. Can you find a mobo + power supply for that? When dealing with old equipment, it's almost always cheaper to buy a whole old system than to try to procure parts.
     
  6. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #6
    I picked up my 1,1 for $100.

    I see a working logic board for the 1,1 and 980w OEM PSU for under $100 on Ebay.
     

Share This Page