Mac Pro bogging down

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dubina, May 16, 2013.

  1. dubina, May 16, 2013
    Last edited: May 16, 2013

    dubina macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #1
    My bro has a Mac Pro with 2 TB and lots of programs. I am trying to mine it for stuff we need to know. He has 100 icons in his dock and rarely uses any of them now. Are they bogging the Mac down because they're "open" or are they just sitting there adding nothing to the processing load?

    By "bogging down" I mean I see the little spinning rainbow pinwheel a lot.

    Thanks,
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Simply having apps installed or data stored will not affect performance, unless those apps are running or unless you're running out of disk space.

    If you're having performance issues, this may help:
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
  4. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #4
    @ simsa

    0 Page Outs and 0 Swap used

    Also, fwiw, "Safari is not responding"
     
  5. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #5
    GGJstud

    I see lots of advice about eliminating unnecessary stuff (always good advice). It's not my Mac so I don't know what's needed or not, but m'bro is in a hospice situation, and none of the stuff is needed in that sense.

    Plenty of free disk space, using less than 50%. He has 2 TB.

    See my report to simsa this thread regarding 0 page outs and 0 swaps.
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    There's a difference between how much hard drive storage you have and how much RAM you have. Go to About This Mac (under the Apple icon in the menu bar) and that will tell you how much memory the system has installed.
     
  7. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #7
    @ Mackilroy

    "...how much memory the system has installed"

    64 GB 1066 MHZ DDRE
     
  8. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    What model Pro is this?
    What processors does it have?
    What speed are they?
    What did he use it for?
     
  9. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #9
    Not sure about the model. Could "MacPro 2TB.1" be the model? I see two hulking towers and no model on them anywhere.

    2x2.93 GHZ Quad core Intel Xeon

    He used it for professional photography ... processing digital images, portraits, action shots, landscapes, etc. Like Ansel Adams in enhanced digital color.
     
  10. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    No.

    Based on the description of the CPUs, it's probably a 4,1 (2009). You can check by clicking the Apple menu and then clicking "About This Mac". Then, click the "More Info..." button and it should tell you which one it is.

    And for future reference, the serial number would be on the back of the machine on a grey label affixed in the indentation below where the graphics card is normally installed. See here.
     
  11. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #11
    Sounds like the system has numerous software issues and could use a good clean install. That should eliminate all of the problems assuming they aren't physical hardware issues.

    1. Backup all data to a Time Machine drive
    2. Use Lion Diskmaker to make a Mountain Lion installer on a 8GB+ USB drive
    3. Wipe the boot drive and do a clean install of OS X
    4. Manually copy all data back to where you want it

    Adobe applications will need to be reinstalled and reactivated; not sure about the others.

    More detailed instructions here:
    http://osxdaily.com/2012/07/25/how-to-clean-install-os-x-mountain-lion/
     
  12. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #12
    I found a characteristic that said "early 2009". Also found the serial number.

    My brother called in one of his friends to fix the iMac. It seems to be working now. I was not present when the friend did what he did, but I; pretty sure he did not wipe and reinstall OSX.
     
  13. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #13
    Why so sure?
     
  14. dubina thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #14
    I was there part of the time. I think the problem was mainly due to a keychain login password that the second Mac jockey had to crack or hack. Before that, a first Mac jockey hacked the master password and left the keychain login problem. I think the second Mac jockey did some "cleanup", but I would be surprised if he had enough time to do the things suggested by Demigod Mac.

    My brother is ill and cannot shed much light on the problem. I told him I saw a lot of rainbow pizza and he was not surprised. Now, no pizza wheel.

    Call it "solved".
     

Share This Page