Mac Pro Bootcamp/Leopard

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Willis, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #1
    Hello, is there still an issue with bootcamp and leopard?

    Basically, I'd like to get our MP updated to leopard, but if I cant load windows up, then... bit stuck really.

    Got Windows already installed, so dont know if that makes a difference. If anyone can fill me in, that'll be great :)
     
  2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #2
     
  3. Willis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #3
    hang on, you're saying I have to re-install XP?

    Surely theres another way?

    Maybe an added note here...

    I have 3 HD's for OSX and a HD for Windows in my MP... does that still affect it?
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    were did i say you HAVE to upgrade to leopard and re-install xp??,i said thats what i would do
    you could probablly install leopard over a excisting internal osx partition but boot camp would still be beta
     
  5. mstrswrd06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #5
    It will work fine just through updating to Leopard.

    If you're really concerned about it being a beta, you can just update the drivers using the Leopard disc. Otherwise it should work just fine.
     
  6. Willis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    I wasnt implying that.

    I have a Leopard family pack and I havent updated the MP because I was concerned I couldnt load my windows drive.

    so, should i upgrade, my windows drive SHOULD work?
     
  7. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Bootcamp has been working with the Mac Pro just great since almost the beginning of the beta. No problems upgrading to Leopard and upgrading the Bootcamp drivers in XP from the Leopard DVD.

    Really, Bootcamp in Leopard isn't any different, and it has absolutely no effect on an existing Windows partition.
     
  8. Willis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #8
    thanks for that =)

    Just few of the posts made that people cant access their partitions anymore.

    thanks again
     
  9. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    sorry didnt mean to sound snotty just put the leopard disc in while in xp it'll
    update the drivers, ive had no problems with leopard so far even while doing
    heavy stuff ie studio 8 and like the new stuff spaces stacks etc
     
  10. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    If everything's working fine now, then it'l work fine if you upgrade to Leopard.

    At the moment you have:

    Partition 1: OS X Tiger
    Partition 2: Windows

    If you install Leopard your Windows partition will be untouched:

    Partition 1: OS X Leopard
    Partition 2: Windows

    Once you've installed Leopard, boot into Windows are stick in the Leopard DVD. It will then install updated Windows drivers, which have nothing to do with OS X.
     
  11. Willis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #11
    technically speaking...

    Bay 1 - OSX
    Bay 4 - Windows

    I gave it its own 120GB HD


    Thanks for the responses. Its just I've heard of problems with other mac users that they are no longer able to access their Windows partitions and wasn't sure if this was across all the ranges.
    :)
     
  12. htdefiant macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #12
    I am on a Mac Pro running Leopard on Hard Drive 1 in Bay 1 and Windows XP on Hard Drive 2 Bay 2. I also did this with Tiger, and I have had no problems. Before I got my second hard drive, I was running OS X (Tiger) on Partition 1 and XP on Partition 2.
     
  13. macwhack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    #13
    I had a computer with Tiger and Windows XP installed on it. I upgraded my tiger to leopard. NO PROBLEMS so far.....
    Then I use the upgrade DVD to install the latest bootcamp drivers from the DVD and now I cannot increase or decrease the brightness, the volume. Everything else seems fine. Havent tried everything else though ....
    What is the problem ? My volume and brightness weren't a problem before.

    Thanks
     
  14. Willis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #14
    Right well I've done the upgrade and safe to say, all is well. :D

    @ macwhack

    I havent noticed that issue, but then, I havent tried it. I will have a look and see if its an issue on mine.

    UPDATE:

    Volume works, brightness controls... nadda... I cant remember if it worked to start with to be honest. *shrug* anyhoo, it aint working regardless
     

Share This Page