Mac Pro - Bootcamp - Thunderbolt or bigger HD?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Kontrl, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. Kontrl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    #1
    Hey there all,

    I'm currently looking at purchasing the higher end Mac Pro (6 core with d700s).

    Currently the stock storage is 256gb. I'm thinking of running bootcamp though, and well currently on my MBP it has a 750gb HD and it's filled to around 720gb, just running MAC.

    So obviously the stock storage is not enough.

    My knowledge with boot camp is that you tell it the percentage of HD you want on either (Mac and windows)

    As the stock is not enough and I don't really want to throw another $1000 on the total cost.

    What are some options to get around this?

    Run a thunderbolt and split that HD?

    Or run a separate thunderbolt for solely MAC and another external HD for solely Windows?
     
  2. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #2
    Going for cheap? Yes. TB and split.
     
  3. rasputin666 macrumors member

    rasputin666

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #3
    i would look at what is taking 720 of the 750GB. is that all the same type of data you need fast access to? i wouldn't external OSX, i would use the internal for that and get an SSD for windows. or if most of that 720 is work files, move that to external and use the internal for both OS's. the nMP should be the time you really analyze your data, tier1/teir2 etc. #1 for live, ever changing data you'e working on and #2 for static, less changing data. i have the 256GB stock in my nMP 6-core with a windows VM, some work files and my iPhoto library. everything else i moved to a 128GB SSD in a TB sled adapter. almost 400GB of SSD is enough for my #1 data, i moved for #2 stuff to a USB3 external. See this post, it was helpful to me http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=18796140#post18796140
     
  4. Kontrl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    #4
    OK, so after reading responses,

    I'll run Both OSX and Windows OS from the internal SSD. But for any data which is not able to fit, what External HD/TB do you recommend? say under $500?
     
  5. VirtualRain, Mar 4, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014

    VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    How much storage do you need? How fast do you want it?

    You can get a 3-4TB USB3 external for under $200...
    http://www.amazon.com/LaCie-Porsche...qid=1393923741&sr=8-12&keywords=lacie+minimus

    Or a pair of spinning drives in a WD Thunderbolt Duo for around $500...
    http://www.amazon.com/Book-Thunderb...923248&sr=8-2&keywords=WD+thunderbolt+duo+4TB

    You can get a blazing fast 2TB at SSD speeds in a WD Velociraptor Duo for around $500...
    http://www.amazon.com/VelociRaptor-...923248&sr=8-4&keywords=WD+thunderbolt+duo+4TB

    Or you can get a 1TB SSD with TB Dock for a bit more...
    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-2-5-I...8&qid=1393923412&sr=8-1&keywords=1tb+ssd+m500
    http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-GoFle...393923474&sr=8-1&keywords=Go+flex+thunderbolt
     

Share This Page