Mac Pro BOOTCAMP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jsuhlman, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. jsuhlman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 5,1 (mid 2010) with 2 x hex processors and 64 GB RAM running OS 10.10.4. I have been trying to use BOOTCAMP to load Win7 on a separate 1 TB HD. However, every time I try to do so the screen goes black and nothing happens. I was able to load Win7 with OS 10.7, but when I reinstalled the other HDs, every time I tried to launch BOOTCAMP (holding down the options key) the screen again went black and I had to do a hard reboot. Any help?
     
  2. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #2
    Is the separate HD on an internal sled? How was it formatted and partitioned?
     
  3. jsuhlman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #3
    Yes, the HD I intend to use for BOOTCAMP is a separate HD on an internal sled in the first bay. It was partitioned as a single partition and formatted as Mac OS Extended (journaled) using Disk Utility prior to launching Boot Camp Assistant. When I got it working with OS 10.7, the OS 10.7 drive was in bay 2 and no other drives were connected in any manner.
     
  4. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #4
    I have some extra CalDigit bootable eSATA cards and have seen BootCamp confusion with those. What helped was a triple NVRAM reset Cmd-Opt-P-R followed by Opt Boot.
    If it just stays black, it normally means that it did not completely go from EFI into the BIOS compatibility mode. With my extra cards, their BIOS initialization screens (agonizingly) cycle through followed by the Windows boot process.
    When Windows runs into BCD boot configuration issues, it normally shows some form of error msg. Most of the time, it is a misconfigured BCD, which can be repaired. I also boot it as VMware, which can allow repair.
     
  5. jsuhlman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #5
    When you say a triple NVRAM reset, does that mean holding through the second tone three times or holding through the six tone once? Then followed by Boot option to the Mac OS drive?
     

Share This Page