Mac pro booting issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 98ilest, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. 98ilest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hi everyone, I am new to this forum so I'm really sorry if this has been covered (although I have searched everywhere and not found any answers!).

    To start fr the beginning, I have built a mac pro (not hackintosh). I acquired a couple of the major parts like the tower with psu fitted and processor very cheaply. However, it is now all built, but I can't get it to boot. When I turn the power button on everything starts up, all fans start running, a red led flashes once on the processor board and then goes off (which apparently is correct) and the optical drive seems to be loading my snow leopard disc.

    However, I can not get anything displayed on the monitor at all. It just stays black. I know the monitor is working because I use it with my laptop - it is a 23" cinema display.

    I have tried partitioning and installing the os on the hard drive before installation but still nothing on the monitor.

    The graphics card is brand new from the apple store and the fan comes on when I turn the machine on so I'm almost certain it is not faulty. It is a nvidia GeForce gt 120.

    Also I don't think any keyboard combinations work such as holding c because I get no light when I press tge caps lock key. The problem seems to be the initial boost.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I would really appreciate any help here!

    Thanks so much
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Start from getting service manual for your MP model (i.e. logic board in this case) and check diagnostic LEDs.
    I assume you've used matching parts (EFI and SMC versions) and you did check every cable connection twice :)
     
  3. simsaladimbamba, Nov 14, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2011

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    With "home-built", do you mean HACKINTOSH?

    Anyway, if it is a real Mac Pro from Apple, or even a Hackintosh, you can install Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard onto it, if you have a RETAIL version of 10.6.

     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. 98ilest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    No, not hackintosh. Basically I was given the tower with psu, front panel boar and logic board so thought I'd add in the processor board and processor. It is a mac pro, not hackintosh. However, I've not been to get it to boot. When turned on everything starts up but nothing displays on the monitor. Also the caps lock key does not illuminate when pressed. Is there any way of checking the smc/efi without video on the monitor? And if so, can they be upgraded without being able to boot?

    Thanks
     
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    Sounds Like AN EFI Issue

    Without display, I can't see how you are going to do this I'm afraid the clue lies in the CPU change I think.
     
  7. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #7
    You didn't specify which model Mac Pro ?
    I also think looking into the service manual will help you find the culprit. Maybe the processor isn't correctly seated ?
     
  8. 98ilest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Thanks for the reply. I wish I had another mac pro to test on because I don't really want to spend more money on this! I bought the processor board on eBay and it had been pulled from a working machine, however, the firmware of that machine could have been upgraded making it different to te logic board. However, this may not be the case because the red led flashes on the processor board upon start up meaning they are interacting. I am trying to install the retail version of snow leopard. I have a feeling I need an original 2009 mac pro processor to initialise the boot and then upgrade the processor once all is well.
     
  9. 98ilest thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Sorry, tho is a 2009 mac pro an I have just acquired the technical repair guide so will do some tests later!
     
  10. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #10
    Check pages 29 to 34 and page 49 of the 2009 Mac Pro service manual
     

Share This Page