Mac Pro Can't use the second internal hard disk

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Georgie13, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. Georgie13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I have a Mac Pro, and I warn to install also windows 7. I just had add a raid card. In total I have 8 tera, the 6 are for the Mac raid. The other 2, for windows. The problem is that I had installed windows, but I had to erase it because every time I switch to windows a black screen appear.
    But now, I can't install windows using boot amp because I don't have the option to install Windows, it says that I can't do it because I have installed the Raid Card.

    Thanks you,
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Do you need Windows to be installed on a RAID? And is it a mirrored or striped RAID?
     
  3. Georgie13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    #3
    No, I want to install windows on the 2 tera, who are not on a raid. It is a striped raid.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    In other words, the 2 TB HDD is not connected to the RAID card but to the Mac Pro's internal SATA connectors?
     
  5. Georgie13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
  6. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    What RAID card are you using?

    ~ Cheers
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    May be don't use bootcamp.

    1) Insert the Windows 7 disk
    2) Reboot and holding C
    3) Install Windows 7 from the disk straight away

    Most likely you will need to remove the partition in your 2T HDD and crate a new partition. You can do all this during the setup process.

    After the Win 7 installation. It's your choice to install the bootcamp software of not.
     

Share This Page