Mac Pro + Cinema display in a "travel" box

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by edesignuk, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    IT|Redux via Engadget.

    :cool:
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Removes me of another Apple portable...

    [​IMG]

    They probably weigh about the same, but mine runes on batteries. :p
     
  3. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #3
    It should really have a desk and chair fold out of it.
     
  4. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
  5. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
  6. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
  7. stiles macrumors member

    stiles

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #7
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    dual rack mounted mac pros = NIN portability.
     
  8. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    THIS TRAVEL BOX SHALL BE THE MOTHER TO MY CHILDREN
     
  9. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #9
    Except those are Power Macs
     
  10. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #10
    and they're not really "rack mounted," either.
     
  11. stiles macrumors member

    stiles

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #11
    photo was taken in 2006, I'm sure they are pros now. ;)
     
  12. stiles macrumors member

    stiles

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    #12
    uh, how is that not rack mounted? they are both foamed in.
     
  13. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #13
    Because "rack mount" is a specific hardware description. Take a look at the Apple X-server's specs:

    http://www.apple.com/xserve/specs.html

    Rack support

    * Fits EIA-310-D-compliant, industry-standard four-post racks and cabinets: 19 inches wide, 24 to 36 inches deep
    * Front-to-back cooling for rack enclosure
    * Support for square-hole racks or threaded racks based on mounting kit selection

    There's the standard definition of a rack.

    Something that's rack-mounted is either screwed into a 19" rack, or it's on rails in that rack so it can slide out.

    Believe me, guy, I've been around plenty of rack mounted equipment -- computers, audio, video. Rack mount is rack mount, and sitting in foam isn't rack mounting.

    But if you don't believe me, then follow this link:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rack_mount
     
  14. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #14
    For the more budget-minded..

    While incomparable in terms of elegance, I've personally hauled my Mac Pro and 24 and 30" monitors (Dells, sadly) around the world in suitcases, wrapped once in plastic and then jeans. I had to pull the drives, video card and memory risers out of the Pro to come in under the luggage allowance for a single bag. The only casualty was the removed stand on my 24" monitor. The Metal base snapped, astonishingly, but everything works. I had a wooden base cut to shape for $2 here in India :) My son later killed 6-8 pixels on my 30" presumably by swinging a stick toward it.

    So yeah, suitcases are ideally shaped and when packed tight with clothes provide great protection. Not that the Mac Pro is particularly fragile :)

    The biggest hassle I had with the 30" was the left-luggage counter in Germany - tight security there! It looks very high-tech in the XRAY machine. I felt pretty hesitant to leave the suitcase there for 4 days, knowing that the two employees knew precisely what I had in my bags.
     
  15. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #15
    If I was on a budget and wanted something very durable. I would invest in a Pelican case.

    http://www.casesbypelican.com/apple-g5-1690.htm

    But I would still be afraid after the airlines get there hands on the case and toss it around a few times. The risers or graphics card may snap off....
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    I know what you mean. I always remember the old Samsonite commercials. "Ape squad" pounding, throwing, ... the crap out of your luggage. :D
     
  17. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #17
    Yes, I would like to put some sensors in a case (Like those sensors they use to crash test cars). I am willing to bet our cases take more damage from the handlers, then from turbulence.

    ~Steven
     
  18. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #18
    People have some custom ones like that made for photography.

    Basically a heavy duty table with heavy duty lockable wheels. Mount mac Pro. Mount Cinema Display on a heavy duty display arm.

    Some rental houses even rent them, nothing as huge as the thing on top, but will work.
     
  19. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #19
    3 axis LVDT setup attached to a data logger. ;) :D
     

Share This Page